1. K-State home
  2. »Office of Student Success
  3. »KAWSE
  4. »About
  5. »Committees

Office for the Advancement of Women in Science and Engineering


GROW/EXCITE/SUCCEED Executive Committee

The GROW, EXCITE, SUCCEED Executive Committee meets on a biannual basis to discuss the events and initiatives of each program. The committee is comprised of founders of the KAWSE office and current KAWSE leadership and staff.

GROW/EXCITE/SUCCEED 2021-2022 Steering Committee

The GROW, EXCITE and SUCCEED Steering Committee meets once per semester to discuss the events and initiatives of each program. Committee members help KAWSE stay informed on similar efforts in their colleges/departments and discuss ways in which we may continue to collaborate and support each other.

SUCCEED Internal Advisory Board

The SUCCEED Internal Advisory Board (SUCCEED IAB) is a student committee designed to help KAWSE understand the needs of women in STEM at K-State and address programming to meet those needs. The SUCCEED IAB meets once per semester. All STEM majors/colleges are welcome to apply. The SUCCEED IAB is open to undergraduate and graduate students. 

ADVANCE Internal Advisory Board

The ADVANCE Internal Advisory Board meets once per semester to collaborate with members from all STEM colleges to identify what KAWSE’s current “must-have” programs are and what “must-haves” we might develop.

*a list of current members of any of these committees/boards are available upon request by emailing kawse@k-state.edu

KAWSE Founding Members 

Dr. Ruth Dyer
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering
Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering Emerita
Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Emerita

Dr. Beth Montelone
Ph.D. Molecular Biology
Professor — Biology
Senior Associate Vice President for Research, Office of Research Development

Dr. Bonnie Rush 
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine 
Professor - Equine Internal Medicine 
Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine 

Dr. Jacqueline Spears
Ph.D. Education 
Professor - Curriculum and Instruction
Interim Dean and CEO of K-State's Olathe Campus