1. K-State home
  2. »ICDD
  3. »Staff
  4. »advisoryboard

Institute for Civic Discourse and Democracy

ICDD Advisory Board

Thea Nietfeld

Thea Nietfeld has a Masters in Labor Relations and a Masters of Divinity. She is a Unitarian Universalist minister serving small fellowships in Salina and Hutchinson. Thea's ministry focus is peacemaking. Her primary areas of work include alternative dispute resolution, peace building, democratization and organizational development.

Gary Flory

Gary Flory, J.D., is the principal facilitator with the Great Plains Consensus Council (GPCC) at Bethel College, where he also serves on the faculty. In addition, he is the director of GPCC's parent organization, the Kansas Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution (KIPCOR). Gary is approved by the Kansas Supreme Court as a meditation trainer in the areas of core, civil and domestic mediation, through his primary area of expertise remains facilitated public decision-making. He is also on the national roster of Environmental Conflict Resolution and Consensus Building Professionals for the U.S. Institute for Environmental Conflict Resolution.

Phillip Wilbur

Phillip Wilbur has worked as a media advocacy consultant and trainer on a variety of public health issues, primarily in tobacco control. He began by working with renowned political consultant Tony Schwartz in 1984. Wilbur's work as a writer and producer for Schwartz on various political and public interest campaigns won him several awards, including two CLIO nominations. He currently works with Danya International, Inc., a government-consulting firm in Silver Spring, Maryland, where he directs their tobacco control and other health programs.

Joseph Pierron

G. Joseph (Joe) Pierron is a judge on the Kansas Court of Appeals. For almost 40 years, he has been heavily involved in children's issues and in law-related education for both students and adults. He is presently chair of Kids Voting Kansas and participates in numerous committees and groups aimed at law-related education programs.

Terry Cupps

Terry Cupps graduated with a B.A. from Kansas State University in 1978 and received his J.D. from Washburn University in 1982. Terry currently practices law at Foulston Siefkin LLP Attorneys at Law in Wichita, KS. He is a member of the Kansas State University Alumni Association, Kansas State University Foundation President's Club and a life member of the Washburn Law School Alumni Association.

Deborah Divine

Deborah Divine is a former mayor and city commissioner of Salina, KS; she also managed the Kansas Scenic Byways Program under the Kansas Department of Transportation for 14 years. Debbie currently serves on the boards of the Kansas Humanities Council, the Kansas Sampler Foundation and the Salina Art Center.

Lynda Rathbone

Lynda Rathbone started working for the US government by setting up the first email system as well as the first website for the White House in Washington D.C. She is currently the managing director for the web service consultancy firm, Four Square Media in London, England.

Judy Sabbert

Judy Sabbert is the Chief Operating Officer for the Heartland Foundation, a 501(c)3 public charity dedicated to empowering children and adults to build healthier, more livable communities. Located in St. Joseph, Missouri, the Foundation has been recognized nationally and internationally for creating innovative approaches and diverse partnerships that build the capacity of individuals and communities to succeed.