CGS/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award

Sponsored jointly by CGS and ProQuest Dissertations Publishing, the Distinguished Dissertation Award is made annually to individuals who, in the opinion of the award committee, have completed dissertations representing original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline. Award recipients receive an honorarium of $2,000 and a certificate of recognition, presented at the annual meeting of the Council of Graduate Schools, December 4-7, 2024, in St. Louis, Missouri. Reasonable travel expenses of the recipients will be paid by the CGS.

Eligibility guidelines

The effective date of degree awarded must fall in the period of July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2024.

2024 award

K-State will select one nominee for each of the two award categories described below. Graduate program directors should determine the category in which their nominee's work fits best. Nominations from fields of study not listed below are welcome for submission so long as the nature of the dissertation work fits within one of the two competition categories. Awards will be presented in Biological/Life Sciences and Humanities/Fine Arts in 2025.

1) Social Sciences
The following list, although not all-inclusive, illustrates the fields considered as Social Sciences by the CGS: agricultural economics, geography, anthropology, archaeology, economics, education, sociology, government (political science), demography, and psychology. (For purposes of this competition, history is considered with the humanities.)

2) Engineering/Math/Physical Sciences
The following list, although not all-inclusive, illustrates the field considered as Mathematics, Physical Sciences and Engineering by the CGS: mathematics, statistics, computer sciences, data processing, systems analysis, chemistry, earth sciences, physics, geology, meteorology, astronomy, metallurgy, geophysics, pharmaceutical chemistry; aeronautical, architectural, biomedical, ceramic, chemical, civil, and electrical engineering sciences; environmental health engineering; geological, mechanical, mining, nuclear, and petroleum engineering. (For purposes of this competition, engineering technologies are not included).




Questions about the nomination process for this award may be directed to Miranda Schremmer,, 532-6191.