Anne Phillips

PhillipsProfessor and Associate Head / Graduate Faculty
Ph.D. 1993, University of Connecticut

Office: English/Counseling Services Bldg. 101

Fields of interest:
Children's and Adolescent Literature; American Literature

Anne K. Phillips specializes in American children's and adolescent literature. She and Gregory Eiselein have co-edited The Louisa May Alcott Encyclopedia (2001), the Norton Critical Edition of Alcott's Little Women (2004), Critical Insights: Little Women (2015), and Critical Insights: Louisa May Alcott (2016). They are the co-hosts of “Little Women 150” <>, a blog commemorating the sesquicentennial of Little Women, and they have co-edited “The Newness of Little Women,” a dedicated issue of Women’s Studies (2019). Anne has also co-edited Children's Literature 21 (1993), and, with Christine Doyle, Children's Literature 34 (2006), a volume dedicated to the works of Alcott. With Miranda Green-Barteet, Anne has co-edited Reconsidering Laura Ingalls Wilder: Little House and Beyond (University Press of Mississippi, 2019).

Anne continues to conduct research on illustrations and children’s literature, including the images associated with works such as L. Frank Baum's The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Wilder's "Little House" series, and Kate Greenaway’s A Apple Pie, among others. Her essay on the illustrated editions of Frances Hodgson Burnett's The Secret Garden appears in Frances Hodgson Burnett's The Secret Garden: A Children's Classic at 100 (2011), edited by Jackie C. Horne and Joe Sutliff Sanders. She also teaches a course on illustration and children’s literature for Hollins University’s graduate programs in children’s literature and in writing and illustrating children’s literature.

At Kansas State University, Anne has been awarded the Commerce Bank Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award (1997), the Kappa Delta Pi Teacher of the Year Award (2004), and the inaugural Ronald N. Gaches Lifetime Teaching Award (2016), as well as the Presidential Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Advising (2010). In 2020, she received the English Department’s Michael Donnelly Faculty Award and the SAGE Service Award. Also in 2020, she received the Children’s Literature Association’s Mentoring Award.

Associate Department Head since 2000, Anne chaired the Children's Literature Division of the MLA in 1999 and served as President of the Children's Literature Association in 2006. She served as associate editor of the Children's Literature Association Quarterly under Editor Kate Capshaw. Currently, she serves as Past President of the Louisa May Alcott Society.