1. K-State home
  2. »Diversity and Multicultural Student Affairs
  3. »About
  4. »Indigenous Land Acknowledgement

Diversity and Multicultural Student Affairs

Diversity and Multicultural Student Affairs
Kansas State University
224 Anderson Hall
919 Mid-Campus Drive North
Manhattan, KS 66506

Office Hours:
M-F: 8-12pm / 1pm-5pm

785-532-6276 office
785-532-6339 fax

Morris Family Multicultural Student Center

Kansas State University
Morris Family Multicultural Student Center
915 Mid-Campus Drive South
Manhattan, KS 66506

Summer Hours:
M-F: 8am-5pm


DMSA Foundation Give Image

Indigenous Land Acknowledgement


Indigenous Faculty Staff Alliance Land Acknowledgement

(January 15, 2020)

As the first land-grant institution established under the 1862 Morrill Act, we acknowledge that the state of Kansas is historically home to many Native nations, including the KawOsage, and Pawnee, among others. Furthermore, Kansas is the current home to four federally recognized Native nations: The Prairie Band Potawatomie, the Kickapoo Tribe of Kansas, the Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska, and Sac and Fox Nation of Missouri in Kansas and Nebraska.

Many Native nations utilized the western plains of Kansas as their hunting grounds, and others – such as the Delaware – were moved through this region during Indian removal efforts to make way for White settlers. It’s important to acknowledge this, since the land that serves as the foundation for this institution was, and still is, stolen land.

We remember these truths because K-State’s status as a land-grant institution is a story that exists within ongoing settler-colonialism, and rests on the dispossession of Indigenous peoples and nations from their lands. These truths are often invisible to many. The recognition that K-State’s history begins and continues through Indigenous contexts is essential.

→ K-State IFSA Land Acknowledgement (PDF)


K-State Land Acknowledgement from CaleMitchell Photography on Vimeo.


Indigenous Faculty and Staff Alliance Members at the Groundbreaking for the
Morris Family Multicultural Student Center:
Left to Right: Dr. Alex Red Corn, Tristan Herbst, Dr. Debra Bolton,
Dr. Brandon Haddock, Laverne Bitsie Baldwin, Thurman Williams.



Native Lands Digital Map - This map does not represent or intend to represent official or legal boundaries of any Indigenous nations. To learn about definitive boundaries, contact the nations in question.