K-State IFSA Land Acknowledgement

(Jan 15, 2020)

As the first land-grant institution established under the 1862 Morrill Act, we acknowledge that the state of Kansas is historically home to many Native nations, including the <u>Kaw</u>, <u>Osage</u>, and <u>Pawnee</u>, among others. Furthermore, Kansas is the current home to four federally recognized Native nations: The <u>Prairie Band Potawatomi</u>, the <u>Kickapoo Tribe of Kansas</u>, the <u>Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska</u>, and <u>Sac and Fox Nation of Missouri in Kansas and Nebraska</u>.

Many Native nations utilized the western plains of Kansas as their hunting grounds, and others--such as the Delaware--were moved through this region during Indian removal efforts to make way for White settlers. It's important to acknowledge this, since the land that serves as the foundation for this institution was, and still is, stolen land.

We remember these truths because K-State's status as a land-grant institution is a story that exists within ongoing settler-colonialism, and rests on the dispossession of Indigenous peoples and nations from their lands. These truths are often invisible to many. The recognition that K-State's history begins and continues through Indigenous contexts is essential.