1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Affiliations

About K-State


Big 12

K-State is in the Big 12 Conference of collegiate athletics. The conference is made up of 14 institutions spanning across eight states, boasting an impressive 84 NCAA team titles and 754 individual national championships across the conference as of March 2024.

Kansas Regents institutions

K-State is governed by the Kansas Board of Regents, a nine-member body that governs the six state universities, in addition to serving as the statewide coordinating board for Kansas' 32 public higher education institutions — six state universities, one municipal university, nineteen community colleges and six technical colleges.

Peer universities

K-State's five peer institutions, defined in the Next-Gen K-State strategic plan, include Auburn University, Iowa State University, Oklahoma State University, the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville, and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln