1. K-State home
  2. »Office of the Provost
  3. »K-State University Committee Handbook
  4. »Faculty Senate Committees

Office of the Provost and Senior Vice President

Office of the Provost and Senior Vice President
Kansas State University
108 Anderson Hall
919 Mid-Campus Drive North
Manhattan, KS 66506-0110


Faculty Senate Committees

Faculty Affairs Committee (2000)

Considers matters relating to employment qualifications, professional standards, teaching quality, promotions, workload, and all matters affecting the welfare of the faculty. All committees 2001 through 2999 function as subcommittees of and are responsible to the Faculty Affairs Committee.

Members, 2017-2018

Jason Bergtold, Agriculture 
Todd Gabbard, Architecture, Planning, and Design
Don Saucier, Arts and Sciences 
David Lehman, Business Administration CO-CHAIR
Judy Hughey, Education 
Amy Betz, Engineering
Charlie Barden, Extension CO-CHAIR
Ethan Erickson, General University - Alternate: Scott Finkeldei
Mindy Markham, Human Ecology
Daniel Ireton, K-State Libraries 
Troy Harding, K-State Polytechnic
MM Chengappa, Veterinary Medicine
Miranda Moore, Student representative

Non-voting Attendees:
Brian Niehoff: Liaison for the Provost (Fall)
David Procter: Liaison for the Provost (Spring)
Charlotte Self: Liaison for Human Capital

For additional information please see the Faculty Senate Faculty Affairs website.

Grievance Chair (2018)

Mustaque Hossain, College of Engineering (AY 17-18)

The Grievance Chair serves a three-year term. To learn more about the Administrative Appeal and Grievance Policy and Hearing Procedures please read University Handbook Appendix G.

Faculty Salaries and Fringe Benefits Committee (2090)

Aida Farough, Geology (AY 19-20)
Anna Goins, English (AY 19-20)
Jeffrey Ward, Music, Theatre, and Dance (AY 19-20)
Bill Zhang, Architectural Eng. & Construction Science (AY 19-20)

Trisha Gott, Leadership Studies (AY 18-19)
Maria Beebe, International Programs (AY 18-19)
Priscilla Roddy, Veterinary Medicine, CHAIR (AY 18-19)

Jim Bach, Financial Services (AY 17-18)
Darren Epping, Communication Studies (AY 17-18)
Julia Keen, Arch Eng. & Const. Science (AY 17-18)
Linda Marston, Libraries (AY 17-18)

Carrie Fink, University Support Staff Senate Representative, ex-officio
Troy Harding, Faculty Affairs Representative, ex-officio
Nancy Baker, Planning & Analysis, ex-officio

The Faculty Salaries and Fringe Benefits Committee reviews and makes recommendations on internal distribution of faculty and unclassified staff salary funds and benefits, and formulates recommendations on the level and distribution of internal and external support.

University Handbook & Policy Committee (2095)

Bret Flanders, Physics (AY 19-20)
Mishelle Hay-McCammant, Agriculture Academic Programs (AY 19-20)

Jia Grace Liang, Educational Leadership (AY 18-19)
Erin Yelland, FSHS (AY 18-19)

Debra Burnett, FSHS (AY 17-18)
Melinda Cro, Modern Languages (AY 17-18)
George Widenor, Global Campus (AY 17-18)

Lynn Carlin, Provost's Office, ex officio
Daniel Ireton, Faculty Affairs Committee Representative, ex officio, CHAIR

Participates in the authoring of the University Handbook and reviews the consistency of the handbook with University and Faculty Senate policy.

Academic Affairs Committee (3000)

Members, 2017-18

Jennifer Bormann, Agriculture (Co-Chair)
Katie Kingery-Page, Architecture, Planning, and Design
Tim Bolton, Arts and Sciences
Amy Hageman, Business Administration
Todd Goodson, Education
Todd Easton, Engineering 
Megan Kennelly, Extension 
Heather Reed, General University  Alternate: Jana Fallin
Phillip Vardiman, Human Ecology
Volodymyr Chumachenko, K-State Libraries
Teresa Hartman, Technology & Aviation, K-State Polytechnic (Co-Chair)
Sanjeev Narayanan Veterinary Medicine  Alternate: James Roush
Olivia Baalman, Student representative

Non-voting Attendees:
Monty Nielsen, Registrar
Ruth Dyer, Liaison for the Provost (Fall)
Brian Niehoff, Liaison for the Provost (Spring)

For additional information please see the Faculty Senate Academic Affairs website.

Considers policies and criteria of academic standards, curricula and courses. 

Committee on Academic Policy and Procedures (CAPP) (3010)

Current Committee Members - no term limits

Shannon Washburn, Agriculture (AG)
Lisa Last, Architecture, Planning & Design (AR)
Alison Wheatley, CHAIR, Arts & Sciences (AS)
Bente Janda, Business Administration (BA)
David Griffin, Sr., Education (ED)
Andy Fund, Engineering (EN)
Michael Herman, Graduate School (GS)
Karen Pence, Human Ecology (HE)
Alysia Starkey, Technology & Aviation (TC)
Ronnie Elmore, Veterinary Medicine (VM)
Molly McGaughey, Admissions (OA)
Heather Reed, Academic Affairs Committee (AAC)
Duane Dunn, Global Campus (GC)
Stephanie Bannister, Educational & Personal Development (EPD)
Emily Lehning, New Student Services
Heather Reed, Office of Student Life (OSL)
Steve Dandaneau, Provost's Office
Monty Nielsen, Registrar (OR)

For additional information please see the Committee on Academic Policy and Procedures website.

The purpose of this committee is to coordinate the development, implementation, and revision of procedures supporting approved academic policies that impact the academic progress and/or experience of K-State students.  For more information please see the CAPP webpage.

 Undergraduate Grievance Committee (3030)

Becky DeGreeff, Polytechnic Arts, Sci & Bus, CHAIR (AY 17-18)
Volodymyr Chumachenko, Library (AY 17-18)

Greg Paul, Communication Studies (AY 18-19)

Carolina Pereira, Student (AY 17-18)
Mark Buckwalter, Student (AY 17-18)

Hears complaints of students against faculty or faculty members against students on grade appeals but not academic dishonesty.

University Calendar Committee (3035)

Monty Nielsen, Registrar, CHAIR
Tosha Sampson-Choma, English (AY 18-19)
Christina Geuther, Libraries (AY 17-18)
Kari Morgan, Family Studies and Human Services (AY 19-20)

Jack Ayres, Student (AY 17-18)
Olivia Baalman, Student (AY 17-18)

Considers issues concerning the university academic calendar, studies impact of suggested changes in the academic calendar, and makes recommendations for change to Faculty Senate.

University Library Committee (3040)

Martin Draper, Plant Pathology (AY 19-20)
Colene Lind, Communication Studies (AY 19-20)
Mervi Pakaste, Art (AY 19-20)
Yingying Wu, Apparel, Textiles, and Interior Design (AY 19-20)

Stephanie Bannister, Student Life (AY 18-19)
Eric Cole, K-State Polytechnic (AY 18-19)
Kraig Roozeboom, Agronomy (AY 18-19)
Karin Westman, English CHAIR (AY 18-19)

Kathleen Antonioli, Modern Languages (AY 17-18)
Randall Booth, ISO (AY 17-18)
Brooks Hetle, Housing and Dining (AY 17-18)
Dunja Peric, Civil Engineering (AY 17-18)

Heather Reed, Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Rep

Audrey Opoku-Acheampong, Graduate Student Rep (AY 17-18)
Julia Kemp, Student (AY 17-18)

Lori Goetsch, K-State Libraries, ex-officio

Reviews library operations and recommends policies leading to optimum utilization.