1. K-State home
  2. »Powercat Motorsports

Powercat Motorsports

Welcome

Welcome to Powercat Motorsports, K-State's Society of Automotive Engineers Formula Race team. Formula SAE is the world’s largest and most prestigious design competition with 13 international competitions and over 500 active teams. Powercat Motorsports is proud to represent K-State in this competition every year since 1997. The premise of this design series is to design, manufacture, test, race and present a fully functional, open wheel, open cockpit racecar. While housed in the Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Department, the entirety of the work is competed by students from all across campus.

Powercat Motorsports has a proud tradition of hard work, dedicated ethics, and pushing the limits in design.  This can be recognized as the team features advanced technologies that compare to professional race teams.  These include a full carbon fiber chassis, full aerodynamic packages, custom CNC parts, a fully electric paddle shift system, and wireless data acquisition to monitor the car’s dynamic behavior in real time. 

....Oh yeah, and did we mention we get to race the car we create against other universities?

 

Solid WorkssmahuntsBNSFOptLTC
 DITSS
                                            

Meetings

Thursdays at 7:00pm
Durland Hall 1107

Faculty Advisor
Kevin Wanklyn
kwanklyn@ksu.edu
(785) 532-6132

President
Brett Cook
brett12@ksu.edu

Chief Engineer
Dan Rowland
dlrowlan@ksu.edu

Chassis Design Leader
Janie Osif
janielizzie@ksu.edu

Drivetrain Design Leader
James Berry
jcberry98@ksu.edu

Engine Design Leader
Leif Carlson
leifc@ksu.edu

Suspension Design Leader
Devin Wrong
wrighdev@ksu.edu

Aerodynamics Design Leader
Kyler Blank
kyler8@ksu.edu

Ergonomics Design Leader
Jake Phillips
jakewphillips@ksu.edu

Electronics Design Leader
Mark Rowland
markrowland@ksu.edu

Business Manager
Kyle Peter
ktpeter@ksu.edu