1. K-State home
  2. »Sponsorship 2021-2022

Powercat Motorsports


Welcome to Powercat Motorsports, K-State's Society of Automotive Engineers Formula Race team. Formula SAE is the world’s largest and most prestigious design competition with 13 international competitions and over 600 active teams. Powercat Motorsports is proud to represent K-State in this competition every year since 1997. The premise of this design series is to design, manufacture, test, race and present a fully functional, open wheel, open cockpit racecar. While housed in the Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Department, the entirety of the work is completed by students from all across campus.

Powercat Motorsports has a proud tradition of hard work, dedicated ethics, and pushing the limits in design.  This can be recognized as the team features advanced technologies that compare to professional race teams.  These include a full carbon fiber chassis, full aerodynamic packages, custom CNC parts, a pneumatic paddle shift system, and wireless data acquisition to monitor the car’s dynamic behavior in real time.

Powercat Motorsports  


Weekly Meetings: 

Thursdays at 7:00pm in Durland 1066

Link to join our channel:
Microsoft Teams

Faculty Advisor
Kevin Wanklyn
(785) 532-6132

Anish Srivastava

Chief Engineer
Wyatt Haug

Aerodynamics Design Leader
Ainslie Markle/Audrey Werner ainsliemarkle@ksu.edu  arwerner@ksu.edu

Business Lead
Alyssa Buettner

Chassis Design Leader

Drivetrain Design Leader
Joseph Straub

Electronics Design Leader
Ashton King

Engine Design Leader
Payton Lee

Ergonomics Design Leader
Ethan Gibbs                              epgibbs@ksu.edu

Suspension Design Leader
Wyatt Haug