1. K-State home
  2. »Powercat Motorsports

Powercat Motorsports

Welcome

Welcome to Powercat Motorsports, K-State's Society of Automotive Engineers Formula Race team. Formula SAE is the world’s largest and most prestigious design competition with 13 international competitions and over 600 active teams. Powercat Motorsports is proud to represent K-State in this competition every year since 1997. The premise of this design series is to design, manufacture, test, race and present a fully functional, open wheel, open cockpit racecar. While housed in the Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Department, the entirety of the work is completed by students from all across campus.

Powercat Motorsports has a proud tradition of hard work, dedicated ethics, and pushing the limits in design.  This can be recognized as the team features advanced technologies that compare to professional race teams.  These include a full carbon fiber chassis, full aerodynamic packages, custom CNC parts, a pneumatic paddle shift system, and wireless data acquisition to monitor the car’s dynamic behavior in real time.

Powercat Motorsports  

 

Online Meetings: 

Thursdays at 7:00pm
Microsoft Teams

Faculty Advisor
Kevin Wanklyn
kwanklyn@ksu.edu
(785) 532-6132

President
Mark Rowland
markrowland@ksu.edu

Chief Engineer
Devin Wright
wrighdev@ksu.edu

Aerodynamics Design Leader
Gage Weber
weber14@ksu.edu

Business Manager
Position available

Chassis Design Leader
Cameron Korte
cameronkorte@ksu.edu

Drivetrain Design Leader
Michael Charest
charest@ksu.edu

Electronics Design Leader
Jack Mravunac
jmravunac@ksu.edu

Engine Design Leader
Adam Meng
apmeng@ksu.edu

Ergonomics Design Leader
Ibrahim Al Qabani
alqabani@ksu.edu

Student Engagement
Position available

Suspension Design Leader
Vance Weber
vance5w@ksu.edu