1. K-State home
  2. »Philosophy
  3. »News and Events

Department of Philosophy

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Speaker dates:

March 30 & 31 John Brunero (University of Nebraska at Lincoln) 'Intentions and Bootstrapping Objection'

April 6 & 7  Nir Eyal (Harvard) 'Against Fair Chances'

April 20 & 21 Elizabeth Anderson (University of Michigan) 'Outlaws'

April 27   Bob Simpson (Monash) 'What is Legitimation?'


Recurring Events

During the Fall and Spring semesters, (almost) every Thursday at 4pm in Dickens 201 for Rationali-tea--drink tea, eat cookies, and chat with faculty, staff, and students from the philosophy department. All are welcome!

Philosophy Club: More information is coming, check back.

For the most recent department newsletter, click here.

Recent News

Student News

We are pleased to announce that Patrick Kenney has won this this year's essay competition, with a paper entitled “Income Inequality as a Restriction of Freedom”.  In this paper Patrick analyses Laura Valentini’s ‘freedom-as-independence’ account of freedom and justice arguing that large inequalities in socio-economic power violate Valentini's account of freedom and require intervention. Patrick concludes that Valentini is therefore being inconsistent in arguing that concerns with global justice are limited to ensuring a degree of minimal sufficiency, and in consequence holds that in the actual world duties of justice place much more stringent demands on us. Congratulations Patrick! 

Faculty News