1. K-State home
  2. »Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

Welcome to Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry at Kansas State University offers programs leading to the B.S., B.A., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees and is located in the Chemistry/Biochemistry Building, the H. H. King Chemical Laboratory. If you have questions after browsing these pages, please get in touch with us.

If you are looking for a place that combines interdisciplinary research with "hands on" learning, please take a closer look at what we have to offer you. Our faculty is dedicated to doing world-class chemistry here in the heartlands. Our professors aim to train new generations of scientists who will be the leaders of tomorrow in research, teaching, medicine and industry.


Coming Up

PLU Picnic 

August 20th - Anneberg Park

Please take a look at our upcoming seminars!


News and Achievements

A patent was awarded to Professors Stefan Bossmann and Deryl Troyer (Anatomy & Physiology) for a preclinical cancer detection platform
Read more

Santosh Aryal was awarded a K-State mentoring fellowship for Combinatorial Multifunctional Polymeric Nanomedicine for the Treatment of Breast Cancer Using Doxorubicin and Salinomycin Combination
Read more

Leila Maurmann, our superb Instrumentation Facility Director, was promoted to Research Assistant Professor

Adam Kell, 5th year Ph.D. student in Ryszard Jankowiak’s group, was recipient of a 2015 University Distinguished Professors’ Graduate Student Award

Raghavender Sirimdas, 2nd year Ph.D. student in Emily McLaurin’s group, was selected to present his research at the 12th annual Graduate Research Summit at the State Capitol in Topeka
Read more

Duy Hua's patent on quinoline derivatives that restore cellular gap junction activity was licensed to SigmaAldrich
Read more

Yasmin Patell again named to ACS Division of Chemical Education’s Examinations Institute

Congratulations Stefan Bossmann for receiving this year's University Distinguished Faculty Award for Mentoring of Undergraduates in Research!

Congratulations Christine Spartz - our department's 17th Goldwater Scholarship winner!
Read more

Stefan Bossmann, Leila Maurmann and team awarded $1.3M NSF instrumentation grant
Read more

Christine Aikens receives Iowa State University Alumni Award
Read more

Dan Higgins receives Distinguished Graduate Faculty Member Award
Read more

Saying Good-Bye to Ken Klabunde
Read more

Olga Koper Honored at the White House!
Read more

An Accurate and Rapid Screen for Early-stage Cancers!
Read more

Building Better Batteries
Read more