1. K-State home
  2. »Assessment
  3. »Toolkit
  4. »Measurement
  5. »Developing a rubric

Office of Assessment

Developing a Rubric

Step 1

Identify the qualities that make the difference between good and poor work.

Step 2

Decide on how many levels of achievement you will illustrate (3 or 4).

For example: exemplary, satisfactory, unacceptable
exemplary, proficient, marginal, unacceptable
exemplary, good, acceptable, unacceptable

Step 3

For each criterion, write a clear description of each level of achievement.

Use the table below as a starting template:

CriteriaLevels of Achievement


Source: Huba, M., & Freed, J. (2000). Learner-centered assessment on college campuses: Shifting the focus from teaching to learning. Boston, MA: Allyn and Bacon. Chapter 6


What are the critical components of a rubric?
  1. Performance Element: the major, critical attributes that focus upon best practice.
  2. Scale: the possible points to be assigned (high to low).
  3. Criteria: the conditions of a performance that must be met for it to be considered successful.
  4. Standard: a description of how well the criteria must be met for the performance to be considered "good".
  5. Descriptors: statements that describe each level of the performance.
  6. Indicators: specific, concrete examples or descriptions of what to look for at each level of the performance.