Kansas statute and regulations
The laws and regulations regarding residency for tuition purposes are established by the Kansas Legislature and the Kansas Board of Regents. All of the State Universities are required to follow these rules and may not establish their own. Kansas Community Colleges have different laws and regulations for residency for tuition purposes.
Kansas Board of Regents Residency information/FAQ’s:
Board of Regents Policy Manual – Residency Rules and Regulations:
Initial residency classification is determined from information you provide when you apply for admission. If you are living or attending school outside Kansas, if you recently moved to Kansas, or if you graduate from high school outside the state of Kansas, you may be classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes. Admitted students receive notification if classified as nonresidents. It is the student's responsibility to provide any additional information that may be required to make an accurate residency determination.
To be considered a Kansas resident for tuition purposes, you need to meet the following criteria for 12 months prior to the academic term for which you want to be classified as a resident:
- You must reside in Kansas continuously for the 12 months prior to the academic term for which residency is being requested, with the intent to make Kansas your permanent home.
- You must rely on Kansas sources of income for your financial support.
- You must establish ties with Kansas to demonstrate your intent to become a Kansas resident. These ties include but are not limited to the following: full-time employment in Kansas, filing Kansas resident taxes, registering to vote in Kansas, obtaining a Kansas driver's license and registering your vehicle in Kansas.
- If you are a dependent of your parents and they live in another state, you will be considered a resident of the state in which your parents reside
- Persons seeking to establish Kansas residency must demonstrate that education was not the primary purpose of coming to Kansas and may not take more than 3 credit hours per semester in the 12 months prior to the academic term for which residency is being requested.
Special circumstances may qualify you to pay resident tuition if (each of the following circumstances requires documentation of your specific situation):
- You are a current member of the armed forces of the United States or the member's spouse or dependent child. "Armed Forces" means the army, navy, marine corps, air force, coast guard, Kansas army or air national guard or any branch of the military reserves of the United States.
- You are a veteran, or the spouse or dependent child of a veteran who is currently eligible for federal education benefits for veterans.
- You are a dependent of divorced parents and one parent is a bona fide resident of Kansas.
- Your parents recently moved from Kansas but you will graduate from an accredited Kansas high school, and enroll at K-State within six months of high school graduation.
- You were a bona fide Kansas resident who moved from Kansas but returned to live in Kansas within five years.
- You attended a Kansas high school for three or more years, graduated from an accredited Kansas high school or earned a GED issued in Kansas and are not eligible for resident tuition in any other state.
- Your move to Kansas was the result of a job transfer or job recruitment.
- You are employed on a regular payroll appointment of at least a 0.4 time, or your spouse or parent is employed full-time on a regular payroll appointment by a Kansas Regents university.
- A student who comes to Kansas to attend a Community College may be changed to resident for tuition purposes after meeting the criteria established for the Community Colleges (different than that for the Kansas Regent's Institutions). But when they apply to finish their degree at K-State, they will be classified as nonresidents if they have not met the criteria established for K-State.
- A student’s residency status does not automatically change from nonresident to resident after they have been living in Kansas and attending school at K-State for one year.
- We do not have any agreements for automatic resident tuition with states or counties adjacent to Kansas (KC metro area, etc.) Students from Missouri who are majoring in Architecture or Arch Engineering may be eligible to pay resident tuition through an agreement K-State has with the State of Missouri.
- A student is not eligible to pay resident tuition if their parent works in Kansas but lives in Missouri. Residency for tuition purposes is based on where the family lives, not where the parent works.
- A student is not eligible to pay resident tuition if their family lives in another state but owns property (a home, farm, etc.) in Kansas.
How is my residency status for tuition purposes determined?
Initial residency classification is determined from information you provide when you apply for admission. If you are living or attending school outside Kansas, if you recently moved to Kansas, or if you graduate from high school outside the state of Kansas, you may be classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes. After you are admitted, you will receive notification if you have been classified as a nonresident. It is your responsibility to provide any additional information that may be required to make an accurate residency determination. To have your status reviewed, contact the Admissions Office.
I lived in Kansas my whole life and my family had to move to Texas for my father's job two years ago. Can I still pay resident tuition?
The 5-year grace provision of the residency laws allows a bona fide Kansas resident to return to live in Kansas within five years of leaving and retain their resident status for tuition purposes. There is a form for the student to complete to verify their prior Kansas resident status.
My parents are divorced and I live with my mother in Georgia. My father lives in Kansas and I am considering attending college in Kansas. Would I have to pay out of state tuition at K-State?
If your father is a bona fide Kansas resident, you are eligible to be classified as a resident for tuition purposes at K-State. You and your father must complete a form and provide documentation of his Kansas resident status (usually the most recent Kansas tax return filed).
My dad is a K-State graduate and we live in Texas. I heard that I can pay resident tuition at K-State.
The residency regulations do not address children of alumni and their residency status. If you are Texas residents, you will be classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes. K-State has the Heritage Scholarship for children and grandchildren of K-State graduates who are not Kansas residents. The Alumni Association also has the Legacy Scholarship. Information about all of our scholarships can be found at: http://www.k-state.edu/admissions/#p=finaid%2Fscholarships.html
My mom just accepted a new job (or job transfer) in Kansas. We are moving to Kansas in July. Will I be able to pay resident tuition for the Fall Semester?
Since your move to Kansas is the result of a job recruitment (or transfer), and you will have been living in Kansas less than one year when you will start school at K-State, the out of state tuition costs will be waived for the year that is required to establish residency in Kansas for tuition purposes. There is a form for the student, employee and employer to complete to verify employment. Once you have lived in Kansas for one year, you will be asked to complete the Application for Resident Tuition to verify that all ties with Kansas have been established. Your status will then be changed to resident for tuition purposes.