1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Resident assistants honored by housing and dining services

K-State Today

May 14, 2013

Resident assistants honored by housing and dining services

Submitted by Alison Rogers

The department of housing and dining services recognized several resident assistants for a job well done at the annual awards banquet Tuesday, April 30.

Resident assistants serve a behind-the-scenes yet vital role in K-State’s on-campus housing facilities as a direct link between staff and students. They enforce university and department policies, foster positive relationships among members of their communities, and act as advisors, mentors and — at times — counselors. The department would like to congratulate these student employees for their hard work.

Rookie of the Year Award: Maria Eck, Goodnow Hall; Hailey Wiechman, Marlatt Hall; December Lange, Strong Complex; Jaime Minjarez, Moore Hall; Alex Whitesell, Haymaker Hall; Phil Hill, West Hall; Alison Sharpe, Ford Hall; Valerie Rock Good-Turney, Jardine Apartments West Neighborhood; Shelby Fajnor, Jardine Apartments Denison Neighborhood; Michelle Page, Living Community; Miranda Sterling, Cultural and Diversity Advocates.

Team Player Award: Brianna Winn, Goodnow Hall; Alex Linville, Marlatt Hall; Amanda Liggett, Strong Complex; Austin Winnett, Moore Hall; Anna Waugh, Haymaker Hall; Doree Hicks, West Hall; Carolyn Gatewood, Ford Hall; Marissa Haglund, Jardine Apartments West Neighborhood; Daisha Graves, Jardine Apartments Plaza Neighborhood; Nick Olson, Jardine Apartments Denison Neighborhood; Maggie Thompson, Living Community; and D’Aonda Bush, Cultural and Diversity Advocates.

Eternal Optimist Award: Maria Eck, Goodnow Hall; Amelia Eads, Marlatt Hall; Laura Wiens, Strong Complex; Annie Hanson, Moore Hall; Sarah Snell, Haymaker Hall; Bailey McHenry, West Hall; Kim Peterson, Ford Hall; Jacob Rose, Jardine Apartments West Neighborhood; Shi Jiao Chen, Jardine Apartments Plaza Neighborhood; Kandace Irvine, Jardine Apartments Denison Neighborhood; Krystal Duer, Living Community; and D’Aonda Bush, Cultural and Diversity Advocates.

Staff Role Model Award: Tyler Vollick, Goodnow Hall; Hannah Graves, Marlatt Hall; Megan Coffroth, Strong Complex; Ashley O’Neil, Moore Hall; Kelly Zachariasen, Haymaker Hall; Kendra Lauer, West Hall; Kelby Burton, Ford Hall; Ayrika Bennett, Jardine Apartments West Neighborhood; Ryan Reed, Jardine Apartments Plaza Neighborhood; Holly Bergman, Jardine Apartments Denison Neighborhood; Michelle Page, Living Community; DeDe Crossland, Cultural and Diversity Advocates.

The department also recognized resident assistants who have served for three or more years, and said goodbye to those graduating this spring. Three-year RAs are Kelly Zachariasen, Hannah Graves, Megan Coffroth, Ayrika Bennett and Kelby Burton. Graduating RAs are Nate Greenwood, Courtney Morrill, Kelly Zachariasen, Ian Ehrlich, Andrew Fiori, Bailey McHenry, Kyle Reighard, Megan Coffroth, Laura Wiens, Xiyang (Edison) Niu, Valerie Rock Good-Turney, Marissa Haglund, Ayrika Bennett, Kolbi Redding and Charles Daovannary.