1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »2013 grain science and industry outstanding graduate students honored

K-State Today

May 14, 2013

2013 grain science and industry outstanding graduate students honored

Submitted by Susan Kelly

Ryan Roberts receiving his award for GSI Dept Head, Dirk Maier

Grain science and industry recognized the following outstanding graduate students at the fifth annual Outstanding Student Scholarship and Awards Banquet on April 24.

Ingredion Outstanding Graduate Students award -

  • Meng Xue, doctoral student
  • Elyse Buckley, master's student

Dr. C.E. Walker International Graduate Student Fellowship –

  • Moses Khamis, doctoral student
  • Juhui Jeong, master's student

Anheuser-Busch Company Scholarship – Sherrill Cropper, doctoral student

Rene Buhler Memorial Scholarship – Jonathan Wilson, doctoral student

Cain Land and Grain Value Added Agriculture Scholarship – Kyle Probst, doctoral student

Min Long Liao and Paul Seib Achievement award – Meng Xue, doctoral student

Lola Lee Jackson Animal Welfare Travel award –

  • Ryan Roberts, master's student
  • Michael Joseph, doctoral student

Majel MacMasters Memorial award – Yixing Zhang, doctoral student

2013 K-State Bioenergy Symposium Poster Competition – Yadhu Guragain, doctoral student, first place

The Next Big Thing Awardees – Sarah Gutkowski, master's student and Kyle Probst, doctoral student, bronze round winners for "Bitter Relief."