1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Fall 2021 Faculty Development Awards and University Small Research Grants announced

K-State Today

December 17, 2021

Fall 2021 Faculty Development Awards and University Small Research Grants announced

Submitted by Kelly Burns

The Office of Research Development announces the winners of the fall 2021 Faculty Development Award and University Small Research Grants.

Two Faculty Development Award proposals were submitted and awarded for a total amount requested of $3,965:

  • Rebecca Hackemann Bahlman, art, "Exhibit, Lecture, Workshop," $1,510.
  • Tianjun Sun, psychological sciences, "Society of Industrial and Organizational Psychology Annual Conference, April 28-30, 2022, Seattle, WA," $2,455.

Six University Small Research Grant proposals were submitted and will be funded. The total award amount is $15,861. The successful proposals:

  • Alyssa Morris, music, theatre and dance, "Aglow Trio: Composition Commission, Performance at National Flute New Music Consortium Conference and World Tours," $4,923.
  • Byungsoo Kim, interior architecture and industrial design, "The HFE Data Visualization and Interdisciplinary: The Impact of Different HFE Data Visualizations on Industrial Design Process," $603.
  • Kutay Guler, interior architecture and industrial design, "Augmented Reality Based Egocentric Spatial Exploration as a Design Learning Tool," $2,159.
  • Craig Parker, music, theatre and dance, "Research at the University of California, Los Angeles Department of Special Collections on Igor Stravinsky at the Ojai Music Festival," $4,376.
  • Valerie Padilla Carroll, gender, women and sexuality studies, "Indexing for book 'Who Gets to Go Back to the Land? Gender and Race in US Self-Sufficiency Popular Culture,'" $1,600.
  • David Pickering, music, theatre and dance, "Posture at the Organ: Gateway to Increased Musical Freedom," $2,200.

Congratulations to all awardees!

Faculty Development Awards and University Small Research Grants are awarded each fall and spring by the Office of the Vice President for Research through the Office of Research Development.

Faculty Development Awards support travel expenses to present research, scholarly or creative work or a performance at an international meeting or to visit an external funder or sponsor. University Small Research Grants are seed grants to support small research projects, scholarly activity, and other creative efforts. Both programs are meant to catalyze a faculty member's RSCAD career success. As such, new faculty and faculty from disciplines with minimal outside support are given priority for both awards, as are trips or projects that enhance awardees' abilities to compete for extramural funding. All proposals are peer-reviewed and discussed in a panel. Unsuccessful applicants are given feedback on how to improve their proposals.

University Small Research Grant reviewers were Mary Lou Marino, Office of Research Development; Joel Anderson, Office of Research Development; Sam Bell, political science; Sim Jung Jun, sociology; Amy Rosine, music; and Adulsak Chanyakorn, architecture. The contributions of the peer reviewers are greatly appreciated.