1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Architecture students win honors at 22nd annual Bowman Design Forum

K-State Today

November 17, 2020

Architecture students win honors at 22nd annual Bowman Design Forum

Submitted by Megan Elzinga

Boys and Girls Club by Natalie Cox, Honor Award recipient

Six architecture students in the Master of Architecture program in K-State's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, displayed outstanding design work at the 22nd annual Bowman Design Forum conducted virtually Nov. 11.

Sponsored by Manhattan architecture firm BBN Architects Inc. and hosted by APDesign, the forum brings acclaimed architects to campus to discuss work by students in the architecture department. The forum is an opportunity for students to present their work to architecture practitioners and educators for critiques.

One student from each of the department's six third-year studio sections was selected to present his or her design for a Boy and Girls Club in Alma. Each student participant prepared drawings and a digital presentation.

The annual Bowman Design Forum was introduced by K-State alumnus Brent Bowman to expose third-year architecture students to the field's top professionals. This year's guest jurors were Tim Schroeder, principal, and Nick Lindsley, architect, both from Neumann Monson Architects, Iowa City, Iowa, and both members of the American Institute of Architects. Additional input was given by Austin Massoth and Aaron Dyck, BBN Architects.

The following students were awarded a total of $4,500 in prizes:

• Natalie Cox, Dodge City, $1,500 Honor Award. Cox is a student in the studio of Torgeir Norheim, associate professor of architecture.

• Jada Rezac, Olathe, $1,000 Special Merit Award. Rezac is a student in the studio of Wendy Ornelas, professor of architecture.

• Matt Eichler, Seattle, Washington, $500 Finalist Award. Eichler is a student in the studio of Todd Gabbard, associate professor of architecture.

• JoBeth Hancock, Smithville, Missouri, $500 Finalist Award. Hancock is a student in the studio of Jonathan Dessi-Olive, assistant professor of architecture.

• Abigail Hutchinson, New Castle, Colorado, $500 Finalist Award. Hutchinson is a student in the studio of Brendan Tucker, visiting assistant professor of architecture.

• Amber Pryor, St. Paul, Missouri, $500 Finalist Award. Pryor is a student in the studio of Michael McGlynn, associate professor of architecture.

"The program stretched their expertise and creativity first by developing a project that was seeped in the social, emotional and health aspects of teens," said Wendy Ornelas, third-year level coordinator and professor of architecture. "Secondly, they had to conceive a design that enhanced the urban development of a small town in the Flint Hills. The work of this year's nominees was aspirational and well received by their faculty, the jury and BBN Architects. The students impressed us with their research, compassion, and the precision of their designs."