1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Geography and geospatial science department presents awards and scholarships

K-State Today

May 13, 2020

Geography and geospatial science department presents awards and scholarships

Submitted by Chuck Martin

The geography and geospatial sciences department presented its departmental awards and scholarships at its annual honors and awards reception on May 7.  The event was hosted via Zoom and attended by nearly 50 faculty, students and parents. 

The following students received awards: 

Hilda Onuoha, doctoral student, and Aote Xin, master's student, Steven Kale Graduate Research Fellowships. 

Zachary Reynolds, senior, William Grimm Undergraduate Scholarship.

Rachel Cannon, senior, Huber Self Scholarship in Geography.

Vu Vo, senior, H.L. Seyler Undergraduate GIScience Scholarship. 

Joseph Coleman, senior, LeBlanc Outstanding Undergraduate Major Award and NCGE/AAG Excellence in Scholarship Award. 

Fangfang Yao, doctoral student, and Michael Stumpff, master's student, Stephen and Susan White GTA Excellence Awards. 

Ashton Hess, senior, and Dalton Silhan, junior, Robert H. Williams Undergraduate Geography Scholarships. 

Rebecca Lima, doctoral student, Department Leadership Award. 

Abu Maroof, doctoral student, Dobbs Outstanding Citizen Award. 

Ricardo Aranha, doctoral student, and Hilda Onuoha, doctoral student, Milton and Emma Jean Rafferty GTU Geography Scholarships. 

Nicholas McCarroll, doctoral student, Marston Muddy Boots Award. 

Chester Hubbard, senior, Linda Patterson Geography Scholarship. 

Ashton Hess, senior, Steven Kale Undergraduate Research Fellowship. 

Hilda Onuoha, doctoral student; Nicholas McCarroll, doctoral student; and Nathan Brownstein, master's student, Geography Graduate Research Grants.