1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »2020 Faculty and Professional Staff retirees revised list

K-State Today

May 1, 2020

2020 Faculty and Professional Staff retirees revised list

Submitted by Faculty Senate

Dear Colleagues,

On April 17, we announced that the K-State annual Faculty and Professional Staff Retiree Ceremony had to be canceled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The event is a wonderful moment to pay tribute to the faculty and professional staff who have dedicated years of service to K-State through their research, teaching, and administrative service across all aspects of university life. These individuals leave a lasting legacy of excellence at our institution, and we value their contributions.

A few individuals from the College of Arts and Sciences were missing from our first announcement, so we will use this as another opportunity to celebrate our wonderful colleagues.

Agriculture and K-State Research and Extension

• John Beckman, Scott County
• Jodi Besthorn, Sedgwick County
• Larry Biles, Kansas Forest Service
• Forrest Buhler, Kansas Agricultural Mediation Services
• Sheryl Carson, Thomas County
• Carl Garten, Central Kansas District
• Gary Gerhard, 4-H Youth Development
• Bob Gillen, Agricultural Research Center - Hays
• Douglas Jardine, plant pathology
• Linda Lamb, Extension Programs
• Lyle Lomas, Southeast Agricultural Research Center - Parsons
• Jana McKinney, McPherson County
• Paula Peters, Extension Programs
• Dallas Peterson, Agronomy
• Michael Smith, Entomology
• Deanna Turner, River Valley District
• Pamela Van Horn, 4-H Youth Development
• Deryl Waldren, Northwest Research Extension Center
• Jacob Weber, Wildcat District

Architecture, Planning & Design

• David Seamon, architecture

Arts and Sciences

• Louise Benjamin, dean's office
• Keith Chapes, Center for Basic Cancer Research
• Lawrence Davis, biochemistry and molecular biophysics
Gloria Freeland, journalism and mass communications
• Albert Hamscher, history (posthumously)
• Don Kaufman, biology
• Peggy Matthews, physics and mathematics
• James Neill, statistics
Christopher Remple, English
Carol Russell, English
• Charles Sanders, history
• Crystal Sapp, biology
• Teresa Schmidt, art
• James Sherow, history
• Lou Williams, history

Business Administration

• Dawne Martin, dean's office
• Bruce Prince, management
• Sondra Visser, dean’s office


• Barbara Havlicek, dean's office


• John Devore, electrical and computer engineering
• Bette Grauer, dean's office
• William Kuhn, electrical and computer engineering
• John Slocombe, biological and agricultural engineering

General Administration

• Carla Bishop, Division of Facilities
• Mark Edwards, Housing and Dining Services 
• Jennifer Gehrt, Information Systems Office
• Royce Gilbert, Office of Mediated Education
• Jim Guest, Lafene Health Center
• Steve LaFever, Internal Audit
• Gary Leitnaker, Human Capital Services
• Lawrence Moeder, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President
• Dyna O’Dea, Lafene Health Center
• Irma O’Dell, Staley School of Leadership Studies
• Robert Owens, Network and Telecom Services
• Cheryl Strecker, Office of General Counsel
• Kevin Yaussi, Information Systems Office

Graduate School
• Cheryl Polson, Graduate School

Health and Human Sciences

• Sherry Davis, School of Family Studies and Human Services
• Gayle Doll, dean’s office
• Carol Hockersmith, dean’s office
• Barbara Weltsch, School of Family Studies and Human Services

K-State Libraries

• Mary Bailey, Metadata, Preservation, and Acquisitions
• Luann Ingersoll, Metadata, Preservation, and Acquisitions
• Charlene Simser, Academic Services

K-State Olathe

• Paul Casady, School of Applied Interdisciplinary Studies
• Dean Vakas, dean’s office

Technology and Aviation (K-State Polytechnic)

• Elizabeth Drescher, Polytechnic Research and Engagement

Veterinary Medicine

• Gary Anderson, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology
• Shirley Arck, Veterinary Health Center
• Steven Dritz, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology
• Michael Dryden, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology
• Richard Hesse, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
• Judy Park, Veterinary Medicine Support Services
• Bob Rowland, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology

With sincere gratitude,

Tanya González
Faculty Senate President
Professor, Department of English
Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS 66506