1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »K-State First seeks First-Year Advocate Award nominations

K-State Today

December 3, 2019

K-State First seeks First-Year Advocate Award nominations

Submitted by Brent J. Weaver

K-State First is accepting nominations for its annual First-Year Advocate Awards.

These two awards, one for an undergraduate student and one for a K-State faculty/staff member, will highlight the work being done at the university to provide challenges to help first-year students grow and support to help them achieve. A committee will review nominations and designate one current faculty/staff member and one current student as First-Year Advocates. Award winners will be listed on a perpetual plaque to be displayed in the K-State First office, 14 Holton Hall, receive a framed certificate and be recognized at our K-State First awards dinner in the spring.

Nominations should show that the candidate lives the mission of K-State First by demonstrating:

  • A commitment to student engagement in university-level learning and academic success for first-year students.
  • A strong focus on academic excellence in first-year students.
  • A dedication to community for first-year students.
  • An emphasis on diversity when engaging first-year students.
  • An ability to empower first-year students.
  • A willingness to help first-year students find purpose and achievement in their personal lives and future careers.

Previous First-Year Advocate award winners are not eligible to win. Previous winners were Tamara Bauer, faculty/staff; Haley Weinberg, student; Don Saucier, faculty/staff; and Bailey Porter, student.

Nominations can be made via Qualtrics. Nominations may be submitted in a variety of formats; for example, nomination materials might include — but are not limited to: an essay of 500-600 words, a video or a PowerPoint presentation, not to exceed 5 minutes. Successful nominations will demonstrate a commitment to many, if not all, of the above criteria.

Nominations are due by noon Dec. 20.