1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »APDesign announces 2018 Heintzelman and Kremer prizes

K-State Today

May 11, 2018

APDesign announces 2018 Heintzelman and Kremer prizes

Submitted by Megan Elzinga

“La Marina Town Square” by Christian Berger, 2018 winner of the Heintzelman Prize.

Outstanding design work by fifth-year students in the architecture program at Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign, has been recognized with the Heintzelman and Kremer prizes.

The Heintzelman Prize is presented annually for outstanding individual design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture degree program. The 2018 winner is Christian Berger, Master of Architecture graduate, Wichita, for his project "La Marina Town Square," which was completed in the fifth-year architectural design studio led by Jay Siebenmorgen, visiting assistant professor of architecture.

"The quality of work this year reflects an amazing amount of thoughtfulness and hard work by students and faculty. To share that work with such a distinguished jury in our new building was an incredible ending to the semester," said Matt Knox, head of the department of architecture

The following 2018 Master of Architecture graduates are nominees for the Heintzelman Prize:

Harison Pitchford, Columbia, Missouri, nominee receiving second place, for the project "Sanctuary in the Mist," completed in the studio of Susanne Siepl-Coates, professor of architecture; Alyssa Reynolds, Independence, Missouri, nominee receiving honorable mention, for the project "A center for Self Exploration," completed in the studio of Bob Condia, professor of architecture; Tanner Lee, Blue Springs, Missouri, nominee, for the project "Architecture Study Center for K-State Students in Orvieto," completed in the studio of Peter Magyar, professor of architecture; and Lance Brannock, O'Fallon, Missouri, nominee, for the project "Alta Vista Kitchen," completed in the studio of Todd Gabbard, associate professor of architecture.

The Heintzelman Prize is named after J. Cranston Heintzelman, a longtime educator in the university's architecture department. After earning a Master of Architecture from Columbia University, Heintzelman moved to Manhattan in 1947 to begin a distinguished career teaching architectural design, sculpture and design theory. The Heintzelman Prize has been awarded by the faculty each year since Heintzelman's retirement in 1983.

The Kremer Prize is awarded for outstanding collaborative design achievements by students in the final semester of the professional Master of Architecture program. This year's winning project was "West Bottoms Reborn," conducted in the fifth-year architectural design studio led by Vladimir Krstic, professor of architecture, at the Kansas City Design Center.

The following Master of Architecture graduates were "West Bottoms Reborn" project members:

Fiona Bhuyan, Guwahati, India; Nathan Hall, Derby; Ryan Johnson, Gurnee, Illinois; Noah Kook, Lawrence; Una Liebrenz, Overland Park; Zane Parks, Wichita; Sheldon Roberts, Plainfield, Illinois; Brandon Smith, Columbia, Missouri; Blake Sneed, High Ridge, Missouri, Steven Starr, Overland Park; Shan Zhang, China; Yao Zhu, China.

Also nominated for the Kremer Prize for the project "House #1 at the Volland Arts & Humanities Residency," conducted in the fifth-year architectural design studio studio led by David Dowell, el dorado inc., Kansas City, Missouri are the following students:

Keegan Amos, Garden City; Nicole Bauknight, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Evelyne Chokkattu, India; Lucas Downes, Maize; Jonathan Eden, Andover; Angel Llanes, Denver, Colorado; Tanner Lopez, Wichita; Karl Ndieli, San Antonio, Texas; Dipen Patel, Raymore, Missouri; Kaydee Seematter, Frankfort; Amber Summers, Pleasant Valley, Missouri; Austin Ungerbuehler, Overland Park; Aoran Zhang, China.

The Kremer Prize is named after Eugene Kremer, a longtime member and former head of the architecture department. As an educator and adviser, Kremer fostered in thousands of students a passion for learning and a desire to achieve excellence in all areas of responsibility. While working throughout his tenure to promote strong and lasting relationships between practicing architects and the college's students, Kremer also created opportunities to engage students in collaborative activities, both on and off campus.

The Heintzelman-Kremer jury included Chris Eseman, Senior Principal at LMN Architects in Seattle, Washington, Filip Tejchman, Principal of Untitled Office and an Assistant Professor at the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee and Vanna Whitney, Senior Associate at Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects in San Francisco, California. The hosting of jurors and related events is underwritten each year by College of Architecture, Planning & Design alumnus John Davidson Jr. with Davidson Architecture + Engineering, Lenexa.