1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today Student Edition
  4. »Union Governing Board elects officers for 2012-2013 term

K-State Today Student Edition

May 9, 2012

Union Governing Board elects officers for 2012-2013 term

Submitted by Audrey Taggart-Kagdis

The 2012-2013 Union Governing Board has elected new officers for the coming school year.

The board serves as the general governing and policy-making body of the K-State Student Union. The board consists of 17 voting members, 13 students and three faculty members or administrators, and other non-voting members of the Union staff, including the director, a programming staff member, an operations staff member and the administrative assistant.

Five of the student positions are appointed from entities on campus, including a representative from Student Senate; Union Program Council; K-State Alumni Association from the Student Alumni Board; Graduate Student Council from its graduate student membership; and the student body president from the membership of any organization categorized as multicultural with the office of student activities and services.

The eight remaining student positions are elected by the student body at the Student Governing Association general election in March. Six of these positions are elected for a two-year term and two are elected for a one-year term. Voting members of the Union Governing Board elect the president, vice president and secretary offices. The vacant Student Senate and multicultural student organization positions will be appointed in the fall.

The 2012-2013 student Union Governing Board members include:

Jake Unruh, junior in finance, president; Erin Clopine, junior in finance and pre-dentistry, vice president; Kenna McWhirter, senior in family studies and human services, secretary; Sara Brady, senior in modern languages and marketing, Union Corporation Board president; Ellen Bergkamp, junior in agricultural economics, Union Corporation Board vice president; Emilie Patterson, senior in food science and industry, Union Corporation Board secretary; Dexter McSpadden, senior in management and marketing, Union Program Council representative; Rachel King, senior in political science, Student Alumni Board president; Kathryn Lopez, master's student in journalism and mass communications, Santa Fe, N.M., Graduate Student Council representative; Sophia Dongilli, senior in Spanish and international studies, student at large; and Mollie Kennedy, junior in psychology and pre-law, student at large.

For more information about the Union Governing Board call 785-532-6591.