1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Professor Bob Condia awarded American Institute of Architects Kansas’ Schirmer...

K-State Today

October 5, 2015

Professor Bob Condia awarded American Institute of Architects Kansas’ Schirmer Award

Submitted by Thom Jackson

Condia photo

Bob Condia, professor of architecture in the College of Architecture, Planning & Design, or APDesign received the American Institute of Architects Kansas' Schirmer Award at the institute's meeting on Thursday, Sept. 17, in Wichita.

The award was given in recognition of Condia's outstanding leadership and service to the association and profession.

Condia has been active in American Institute of Architects Kansas including acting as chair of the Committee on Design Excellence, beginning in 1999; being a member of Disaster Assessment Teams, since 2004; and treasurer of American Institute of Architects Flint Hills since 2006.

"Bob Condia has nurtured critical thinking about architectural design, not only for students, but for professionals as well. Kansans should thank him for that service," said Tim Clark, president of American Institute of Architects Kansas.

Previous K-State graduate recipients include, William B. Livingston, Joseph H. Vanderweide, Gary G. Karst, Eugene Kremer, Wendy Ornelas, Mark E. Franzen, Andrew D. Steffes, F. Lynn Walker, Ray B. Weisenburger, and Trudy M. Aron.