1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today Student Edition
  4. »K-State Proud campaign announces 2012 leadership

K-State Today Student Edition

January 31, 2012

K-State Proud campaign announces 2012 leadership

Submitted by Andrew Zender

The winning design for the 2012 K-State Proud logo was created by Jordan Washington, Wichita, Kan.

K-State Proud, the first ever all-university, student-led campaign at K-State, is back for its sixth year of “students helping students.” Guided by the leadership of the K-State Student Foundation, as well as four co-chairs, an advisory board of K-State students and two honorary chairs, K-State Proud is designed to give students the opportunity to help their fellow students and show their pride through philanthropy.

All student campaign donations establish K-State Proud Student Opportunity Awards for fellow K-State students. This year’s campaign goal is to raise $120,000.

K-State Proud co-chairs and advisory board members include:

Paul Lewis and Kyle Reynolds, Andover; Martin Cram, Augusta; Ariel Mendiola, De Soto; Courtney Frantz, Derby; Carissa Rogers, Fredonia; Allie Niederee, Great Bend; Megan Barnett, Joe Falter and Brennen Richman, all from Hutchinson; Drew Goering, Inman; Abby Works and Dylan Works, co-chair, Iola; Courtney Hallenbeck, Junction City; Anna Govert,Kingman; Nicholas Moeder, LaCrosse; Matthew Loeb, Mitchell Loeb and Maggie Weller, all from Leawood; Blair Konczal and Ariel Sinha, both from Lenexa; Casey Dwyer, co-chair, Lyons; John Grice, Jared Rogers and Katy Zapletal, all from Manhattan; Joyce Chen and Suhani Gandhi,Olathe; Abby Guenther, Ottawa; Newell Bowman, Rob Breeden, Mike Ellis, Mariel Martinez, Jake New and Kyle Reynolds, all from Overland Park; Reagan Kays, Pittsburg; Heath Rath, Plainville; Madeline Sanders, Prairie Village; Hillary Boyle and Eric Swenson,  Salina; Claire Carlson, Carolyn Gatewood, co-chair, Jay Timmerman and Andrew Waldman, all fromShawnee; Abbey Brown and Drew Hansen, Topeka; Jake Pritchard and Brett Seidl, Valley Center; Grant Hill, Whitewater; Erin Clopine, Chris Kellenbarger, Rachel King, co-chair, and Allison Morris, all from Wichita.

From out of state: Javi Lopez, San Francisco, Calif.; Tyrone Williams,Columbus, Ga.; Aaron Bisch, St. Louis, Mo.; Tanmay Varma, Bhopal, India.

The honorary chairs for this year’s campaign are Drs. Kirk and Noel Schulz, 
K-State’s president and first lady.

"When students work together toward a common goal, it builds a sense of community and value at the university,” Noel said. “Giving students the opportunity to help their peers benefit creates strong leaders who are proud to support their campus and their community."

“In these difficult economic times opportunities can be limited to some,” noted Kirk. “Over the past five years, our students have helped raise more than $450,000 for student awards through the K-State Proud campaign. That generosity creates and furthers opportunities for students. The K-State Proud campaign is a chance to show solidarity and support for the academic mission of Kansas State University. We encourage all students, alumni, friends and fans to participate and show their Wildcat pride.”

The “students helping students” theme extends to K-State Proud’s promotional material, as each year’s campaign logo is selected from a number of prospective designs created in the Matrix Studio and Business Practices, an undergraduate graphic design class. The winning design for the 2012 logo, which was selected from a pool of 40 designs, was created by Jordan Washington, Wichita. The logo will appear on all of the campaign T-shirts, which will be available during K-State Proud Week, Feb. 27 through March 3.

Alumni, friends and fans can purchase the 2012 K-State Proud t-shirt at any GTM location, including the K-State Super Store, Cats Closet, the Bramlage concourse at the K-State Proud Basketball Game on March 3 or by visiting the K-State Proud website at www.k-stateproud.org. $10 of every t-shirt purchase will be donated to K-State Proud.

The K-State Proud Campaign is generously sponsored by Cox Communications, Wichita, Kan., and GTM Sportswear, Manhattan.

The K-State Student Foundation focuses on raising awareness among current and future alumni about the importance of giving back to K-State, and cultivating philanthropy across the university.