1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Faculty Senate accepting applications for 2014-2017 ombudsperson position

K-State Today

April 22, 2014

Faculty Senate accepting applications for 2014-2017 ombudsperson position

Submitted by Faculty Senate

Dear Colleagues,

Kansas State University has three ombudspersons who are available to assist faculty and unclassified employees in addressing issues that are related to their employment. Each of these individuals plays a critical role in the university's campuswide dispute resolution process.

The duties of an ombudsperson do not take the place of normal teaching, research or service obligations of a faculty member or the duties that are established for an unclassified professional. Each ombudsperson is compensated in the amount of $5,000 per year by the office of the provost. The length of the appointment is three years.

At the beginning of the fall 2014 semester, Kelli Cox's term as an unclassified professional ombudsperson will expire. This message serves as notice of the upcoming vacancy. Interested unclassified professionals must be employed directly by Kansas State University and not merely an affiliated entity, such as the K-State Student Union or K-State Alumni Association. For other pertinent information regarding necessary qualifications for this position please see section C192-C194 of the University Handbook.

If you are interested in being considered for this position, please send by email the following attachments: 1) a cover letter indicating your interest; 2) a statement of your professional qualifications as they are related to the position of Ombudsperson; and 3) a brief vitae. Please direct your email to Candace LaBerge, administrative specialist, Faculty Senate office, candaceb@k-state.edu, by no later than Friday, May 9. All applicants' information, once compiled, will be sent to me for review and consideration.

Additional information about the ombudsperson positions can be found online.

Thank you,

Julia Keen
Faculty Senate