1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Sophomore leadership honorary selects members for 2014-2015

K-State Today

April 7, 2014

Sophomore leadership honorary selects members for 2014-2015

Submitted by Carla Jones

Silver Key, the sophomore leadership honorary at Kansas State University, has new members for the 2014-2015 school year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be high school graduates from 2013 and be in their freshman year at the university. Silver Key provides service to the campus and the surrounding Manhattan community. Members organize and participate in a variety of community service projects each semester. Past projects have included Sleep Out for the Homeless, food drives, highway cleanup efforts, and providing child care to Fort Riley families.

The following students, all who will be sophomores, are new members of Silver Key for the 2014-2015 school year:

Sophia Pitney, bakery science and management, Abilene; Adam J. Schieferecke, microbiology and biochemistry, Bennington; Kaylee Engle, mass communications, Cottonwood Falls; Sara Watkins, elementary education, Derby; Josh Austin, chemistry/premedicine, Dodge City; Beth Augustine, food science/premedicine, Ellis; Noah Trapp, microbiology, Ellsworth; Bonny Boultinghouse, business management, and Taylor Fry, business management, both from Great Bend; Elizabeth Allen, agricultural economics and animal science, Holton.

From Greater Kansas City: Madeline Frankel, public relations, Allie Hennes, journalism/pre-law, Chris Kohlrus, accounting, Sierra Lekie, political science/economics/international studies, Maggie Meyer, chemical engineering, and Rachel Roszel, social work, all from Lenexa; Katie Jo Connor, psychology and biology, and Anna Plum, pre-occupational therapy, both from Olathe; Kelsie Carpenter, kinesiology/pre-physical therapy, Madison May, open option, and Mason Schoen, accounting/finance, all from Overland Park.

Riley Hay, chemical engineering, Liberal; Jessica Van Ranken, political science and international studies, Lindsborg; Brady Kiracofe, biology/premedicine, and Caitlyn Webb, international business/economics, both from Manhattan; Zach May, industrial engineering, Oberlin; Ellen Bodine, speech-language pathology, Roeland Park; Rachel Zimmerman, agribusiness, Satanta; Zev Allen, open option, Soldier; Riley Mickelsen, nutritional sciences/premedicine, and Kayla Shore, open option, both from Topeka; Joel Blankenship, political science and international studies, Valley Center; Anallely Dominguez, micro-biology, Emily Eilert, public relations, Paige Towey, elementary education, and Matthew Zemanick, finance, all from Wichita.

From out of state: Baylee Porter, pre-psychology and women's studies, Arlington Heights, Ill.; Trevyn Sell, architectural engineering, Carrollton, Texas; Leah Smith, special education, Kansas City, Mo.; and Caroline Finck, landscape architecture, Mexico, Mo.