1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Committee members announced for vice president for research national search

K-State Today

October 28, 2013

Committee members announced for vice president for research national search

Submitted by President's office

President Kirk Schulz announced the membership of the search committee to lead the national search for the university's next vice president for research. The chair of this committee is April Mason, provost and senior vice president. The university will be contracting with an executive search firm to support the search process. The search will begin this fall with interviews expected early in the spring semester with assumption of duties commencing by July 2014.

The search committee members are:

  • April Mason, provost and senior vice president, chair
  • Kathy Ankerson, head, interior architecture & product design
  • Kurt Barnhart, head, aviation
  • Yolanda Broyles-Gonzalez, university distinguished professor and head, American ethnic studies
  • Duane Crawford, associate dean, Graduate School
  • Dawn Deeter-Schmelz, professor, marketing
  • Damien Downes, graduate student representative
  • John Floros, dean and director, K-State Agriculture, Research and Extension
  • Steve Higgs, associate vice president for research and director of the Biosecurity Research Institute
  • Sara Kearns, associate professor, K-State Libraries
  • Greg Lohrentz, chief financial officer/chief operating officer, KSU Foundation
  • Paul Lowe, assistant vice president for research and director of pre-award services
  • Jan Middendorf, director, office of educational innovation and evaluation
  • Annelise Nguyen, associate professor, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology
  • Kyle Nuss, undergraduate student representative
  • Richard Potter, director, office of corporate engagement
  • Lesa Reves, Classified Senate representative
  • Mary Rezac, professor, chemical engineering
  • Chris Sorensen, university distinguished professor of physics
  • Jackie Spears, interim associate dean for research at K-State Olathe and director of the Center for Science Education
  • Farrell Webb, associate professor, family studies and human services

"The next vice president for research will join the university at an exciting time in the evolution of our campus and will provide key leadership in expanding our research productivity as we move closer to attaining our K-State 2025 goals," Schulz said. "I thank the search committee members for their willingness to undertake this search and for the valuable service they are providing to the university."