Resident tuition classification is determined by criteria found in Kansas statutes and regulations of the Kansas Board of Regents. Students are responsible for providing information sufficient to support their applications for resident classification. Below is a general overview of the procedures and criteria used to determine resident status. It does not replace or supersede the statutes or Regents' regulations which contain the detailed requirements that must be met in order to prove resident status.
- You must have continuous physical residency in Kansas for at least 365 days prior to the first day of classes for which you are applying for residency.
- During those 365 days, your sources of financial support to meet your living expenses must come from Kansas sources. Living expenses include tuition and books if you are a student. Sources of income that are from full-time, non-student jobs are more beneficial. Maintaining ties to other states will hinder your residency.
- You must show intent to remain in Kansas indefinitely. There are things that can strengthen your case but won't make you a resident by themselves. They are Kansas driver's license, voter registration in Kansas, car registration in Kansas, owning a home in Kansas, etc.
- You must prove that you are residing in Kansas for reasons other than educational purposes. If you are a full-time student upon moving to Kansas, this requirement is the hardest to show because we will presume that you are here for educational purposes.
Use the menu links on the left-hand side of this page for more information or review the Guidelines for Resident Classification for Tuition Purposes.
If you believe you may qualify for a particular residency classification and/or waiver eligibility for tuition purposes (not all students are eligible or qualify) review the following questionnaire to determine possible eligibility.
Applications for Reclassification (currently enrolled students) are accepted 45 calendar days prior to the first day of the term and up to 30 days after the first day of the term. Refer to the Academic Calendar for the exact dates for each semester.
|Fall semester||July through mid-September|
|Spring semester||December through mid-February|
|Summer semester||April through mid-June|
For newly admitted or continuing K-State Students who believe that their initial classification should be reconsidered. This is the first step in the reconsideration process.
For newly admitted or continuing K-State students who have gone through the initial classification or reclassification review and received a form letter indicating the request for in-state tuition and fees consideration has been denied.