1. K-State home
  2. »Office of the Provost
  3. »Enrichment
  4. »Distinguished Teaching Scholars

Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President

Coffman Chair for University Distinguished Teaching Scholars

The Coffman Chair for University Distinguished Teaching Scholars was created in 1995 to underscore Kansas State University's commitment to excellence in undergraduate teaching and learning. A faculty member acknowledged as a leading teaching scholar is appointed to the chair for one academic year. All who are selected to hold the chair retain the title of University Distinguished Teaching Scholar throughout their careers.

During the year in residence, the scholar will conduct the affairs of the chair with substantial personal discretion. The scholar's time and resources will be spent to advance the interests of undergraduate teaching and learning at Kansas State.

During the year following residence in the chair, the scholar submits a summary report of his/her experience and the benefits that have accrued to undergraduate teaching and learning as a result of these activities. These reports are available on the provost's website.

The links below contain information about current and past scholars as well as the guidelines for the nomination and selection of the Coffman Chair for University Distinguished Teaching Scholars. Questions about the nomination process should be directed to the Office of the Provost at 532-6224.

Holders of the Chair

Guidelines for Nominations