1. K-State home
  2. »Philosophy
  3. »Faculty and Staff

Department of Philosophy

Current Faculty


We're a small and feisty undergraduate-focused philosophy department. Among our faculty are internationally recognized scholars, and award-winning teachers. As a department, we have distinctive strengths in Ethics and Moral Philosophy, Political Philosophy, and the Philosophy of Law, as well as Logic, the Philosophy of Science, and the Philosophy of Mathematics.

WhoContact Information
About
Dan Buckley
Daniel Buckley
dsbuckley@k-state.edu
Dickens 308A
website

Dr. Buckley specializes in epistemology. He is also
interested in ethics, agency, responsibility, and the history of philosophy.

Picture of Bruce Glymour
glymour@k-state.edu
201C Dickens Hall
website

⭐ Department head

Area: philosophy of biology

Amelia Hicks
ahicks2@k-state.edu
301B Dickens Hall
website
Dr. Hicks specializes in moral philosophy.
Jack Himelright
Jack Himelright
jhimelri@ksu.edu
308B Dickens Hall
website

Jack works primarily in metaphysics, philosophy of mathematics, and philosophy of mind. He staunchly defends nominalism, and is interested in Russellian monism and the relational analysis of propositional attitudes.

When not philosophizing, he enjoys chess, horror movies and surreal films, and a smidgen of boxing/kickboxing.

Graham Leach-Krouse
gleachkr@k-state.edu
305A Dickens Hall
website
Graham studies Logic and the Philosophy of Mathematics. He also develops software for teaching philosophy, and directs the Integrated Computer Science major.
Shay Logan
salogan@k-state.edu
301A Dickens Hall
website
Area: Logic, philosophy of mathematics
Jason Matteson
Jason Matteson
jasonmatteson@ksu.edu
308C Dickens Hall
website
Area: Value Theory, Normative Ethics
Jon Mahoney
Jon Mahoney
jmahoney@k-state.edu
208A Dickens Hall
website
Jon likes political philosophy, philosophy of law, and hiking in Kyrgyzstan.
Susanna Melkonoan
Susanna Melkonian-Altshuler
sma11@ksu.edu
305 Dickens Hall
website
Susanna specializes in the intersection of philosophy of language, metaphysics
and philosophical logic, particularly in theories of truth and truthmaking. She
also has interests in social and political philosophy, including the philosophy
of genocide.
Scott Tanona
stanona@k-state.edu
208B Dickens Hall
website 
Area: Philosophy of science, history and philosophy of physics

Staff

Teresa Zerbe profile pictureTeresa Zerbe, HCS Liason & Fiscal Officer for the Dept of Philosophy

Office: 201 Dickens Hall

Email: tzerbe@k-state.edu

Phone: 785-532-6758