1. K-State home
  2. »Mortar Board
  3. »Scholarship

Mortar Board


One of Mortar Board’s three pillars, our scholarship committee works to promote scholarship among our members and among the student body by engaging students in academic oriented events and activities.

Each year, the chapter selects a set amount of juniors who demonstrate exemplary scholarship to receive the Outstanding Junior scholarship. The Scholarship committee reviews applications and honors recipients of the scholarship at a ceremony in the fall.

The Scholarship committee is also in charge of the annual Faculty Recognition Reception, in which K-State faculty, staff and advisors are honored for outstanding scholarship at K-State. One professor or faculty member is chosen from each college.

Each year, the XIX Chapter of Mortar Board at Kansas State University honors outstanding faculty with the Faculty Recognition Reception. Mortar Board members nominate and vote on faculty from each college. Traditionally, a banquet is held to honor the recipients. 

This year, much like last year, the reception was not possible due to COVID-19. Instead, Mortar Board will honor the recipients on an individual basis along with the Deans of their college. 

The outstanding faculty for the 2021-2022 academic year are as follows:

Dr. Zeila Wiley, Assistant Dean of Diversity Programs, College of Agriculture

Dr. Martha Smith Caldas, Teaching Professor of Biology, College of Arts and Sciences

Brandon Savage, Instructor in Management, College of Business

Dr. Lotta Larson, Associate Professor of Elementary Literacy, College of Education

Dr. Steven Warren, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering

Erika Lindshield, Instructor in Food, Nutrition, Dietetics, and Health, College of Health and Human Sciences

Dr. Mike Finnegan, Assistant Professor, Leadership Studies