1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2015
  6. »Kansas State University selects Presidential Scholarship finalists from high schools across Kansas, region

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Kansas State University selects Presidential Scholarship finalists from high schools across Kansas, region

Friday, Feb. 6, 2015


Manhattan — Kansas State University has awarded Presidential Scholarships, the largest award in the state, to three high school seniors from Kansas.
The scholarship competition was Jan. 26. The university received 258 applications, and a selection committee chose eight student finalists to interview for the Presidential Scholarship.

Of those interviewed, Kennedy Bowers, Basehor, Basehor-Linwood High School; Elizabeth Weesner, Leawood, Shawnee Mission South High School; and David Nelson, Olathe, Olathe North High School, were awarded the $20,000 per year scholarship — an $80,000 scholarship over four years. All of the other Presidential finalist received a four-year renewable scholarship.

The Presidential Scholarship is the largest and most selective scholarship award made by Kansas State University. It seeks to recognize students who have been truly outstanding, both academically and as student leaders, during their high school career.

"K-State takes great pride in being able to recognize outstanding students from Kansas and across the region who are making a significant impact in their high schools and communities," said Kirk Schulz, Kansas State University president. "I am confident these students will become great K-Staters and I look forward to welcoming them to our K-State family."

"The selection of these incredible students was extremely difficult and rewarding," said Pat Bosco, the university's vice president for student life and dean of students. "It is through President Schulz’s vision and the generous support of our alumni that make this scholarship possible. Given what these winners and finalists have already accomplished, the future of K-State and our nation is in awfully good shape."

The 2014-2015 Presidential Scholarships are made possible by support from alumni and friends, including the Mark A. Chapman Presidential Scholarship funded by the late Mark Chapman and Cheryl Mellenthin, Sealy, Texas; and the Mike and Becky Goss Presidential Scholarship, funded by Mike and Becky Goss, Westport, Connecticut.
Recently established Presidential Scholarships that will begin awarding in 2015-2016 include the Mary L. Vanier Presidential Scholarship, funded by Mary Vanier, Manhattan; and the Vanier Family Presidential Scholarship at K-State Salina, funded by members of the Jack Vanier family of Salina, Brookville and Manhattan.

The following students are Presidential Scholarship finalists:

Rachel Schwindt, Andale, Bishop Carroll High School; Grace Volker, Hays, Thomas Moore Prep; Victoria Thomas, Lenexa, Shawnee Mission West High; Eden Kreighbaum, Prairie Village, St. Teresa's Academy; and Jacy Johnston, Westmoreland, Rock Creek High School.


Kiley Moody


Presidential Scholarship

News tip

Andale, Basehor, Brookville, Hays, Leawood, Lenexa, Manhattan, Olathe, Prairie Village, Salina and Westmoreland


Download the following photo.

Presidential Scholarship

Kansas State University's Presidential Scholarship finalists. Front row, from left: Victoria Thomas, Rachel Schwindt, Eden Kreighbaum and Grace Volker; back row, from left: Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students, Kennedy Bowers, Elizabeth Weesner, Jacy Johnston and David Nelson.

At a glance

High school seniors from Basehor-Linwood, Shawnee Mission South and Olathe North high schools are recipients of Kansas State University's Presidential Scholarship, the largest award in the state.