1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Kansas State University selects Civic Leadership Scholarship winners and finalists

Monday, April 29, 2019


MANHATTAN — Kansas State University has awarded three high school seniors the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship from a group of nine finalists.

The committee received 246 applications for the award. This scholarship rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve.

Emma Stoner, Independence, a senior at Independence High School, received first place and a $4,000 K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship. Olivia Wiley, Wagoner, Oklahoma, a senior at Wagoner High School, received the second-place scholarship of $2,500, while Eden Brockman, Overland Park, a senior at Blue Valley North High School, received the third-place scholarship of $2,000.

The finalists competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 28. They were selected for demonstrating a commitment to serving others in their community, school or place of worship. John Carlin, former Kansas governor and visiting professor and executive-in-residence at the university's Staley School of Leadership Studies, served as honorary chairman of the Civic Leadership Scholarship competition.

The following high school seniors were finalists for Kansas State University's Civic Leadership Scholarship:

Tyler Miller, Augusta, a senior at Augusta High School; Tyler Fox, Derby, a senior at Mulvane High School; Kaitlin Colle, Hutchinson, a senior at Nickerson High School; Derek Rowley, Sedgwick, a senior at Sedgwick High School; Tayln McKenzie, Smith Center, a senior at Smith Center Junior-Senior High School; and Bryant Miller, Redlands, California, a senior at Redlands East Valley High School.


Courtney Hallenbeck


Civic Leadership Scholarship

News tip

Augusta, Derby, Hutchinson, Independence, Overland Park, Sedgwick and Smith Center, Kansas; Redlands, California; and Wagoner, Oklahoma.