1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Scholarship honoring former Sen. Kassebaum-Baker awarded to five incoming freshmen

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Scholarship honoring former Sen. Kassebaum-Baker awarded to five incoming freshmen

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Finalists and recipients

Finalists and recipients of Kansas State University's 2017 Kassebaum Scholarship. From left, front: Maggie Malmberg, Whitney Pepper and Ariana Coker; middle: Nathan Bothwell, Anderson Fitch and Charles Corredor; and back: Jarod DeWeese, Stockton Grunewald, Julia Stolfus and Ann Hrdy. | Download this photo.


MANHATTAN — Kansas State University has awarded the Kassebaum Scholarship to five high school seniors.

Named in honor of former U.S. Sen. Nancy Kassebaum-Baker, of Kansas, the Kassebaum Scholarship recognizes students whose academic and extracurricular achievements reflect the potential for and desire to make a difference through energetic leadership in the public service arena.

The university received 153 applications, and a selection committee chose 10 student finalists to interview on campus for the Kassebaum Scholarship. Of those interviewed, five students were chosen to receive a $5,000 scholarship: Charles Corredor, Lenexa, Bishop Miege High School; Stockton Grunewald, Olathe, Olathe Northwest High School; Maggie Malmberg, Phillipsburg, Phillipsburg High School; Nathan Bothwell, Tonganoxie, Tonganoxie High School; and Julia Stolfus, St. Joseph, Missouri, Central High School.

"The selection of these incredible students was extremely difficult and rewarding," said Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students. "It is through the generous support of our alumni that this scholarship is possible. Given what these winners and finalists have already accomplished, the future of K-State and our nation is in very good shape."

Also in the running for the Kassebaum Scholarship were the following finalists: Anderson Fitch, Manhattan, Manhattan High School; Ann Hrdy, Olathe, Olathe South High School; Jarod DeWeese, Pratt, Skyline High School; Ariana Coker, Shawnee, Shawnee Mission West High School; and Whitney Pepper, Wichita, Andover High School.

The Kassebaum Scholarship has been awarded to 110 students since its inception in 2001, and some of these students have gone to earn prestigious national scholarships, including the Truman, Goldwater and Udall.


Courtney Hallenbeck


Kassebaum Scholarship

News tip

Andover,Lenexa, Manhattan, Olathe, Phillipsburg, Pratt, Tonganoxie and Wichita, Kansas; and St. Joseph, Missouri.