1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Kansas State University selects Civic Leadership Scholarship winners and finalists

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506


Kansas State University selects Civic Leadership Scholarship winners and finalists

Thursday, April 20, 2017

finalists and recipients

Finalists and recipients for Kansas State University's 2017 Civic Leadership Scholarship. From left, front: Riley Faulk; Kinsey Volk; Kaden Meitler; Abigail Pentz; and Savannah Leaton. Back: Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students; Emma Kate Callahan; Katelyn Stepanek; Sarah Fruth; Blaine Fry; Madelyn Yalowitz; and former Kansas Gov. John Carlin. | Download this photo.


MANHATTAN — Three Kansas high school seniors are recipients of a select Kansas State University scholarship that rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve.

Riley Faulk, Lansing, a senior at Lansing High School, received a $4,000 Kansas State University Civic Leadership Scholarship. Sarah Fruth, Olathe, a senior at Olathe Northwest High School, received the second-place scholarship of $2,500, while Emma Kate Callahan, Overland Park, a senior at St. Teresa's Academy, received the third-place scholarship of $2,000.

The scholarship winners were selected from a group of 10 finalists, who competed in a recent on-campus interview and recognition day. The finalists were selected for demonstrating a commitment to serving others in their community, school or place of worship. Summaries of the winners' civic engagement are online at k-state.edu/admissions/finaid/civicrecipients.html.

John Carlin, former Kansas governor and a professor at the university's Staley School of Leadership Studies, served as honorary chairman of the Civic Leadership Scholarship competition.

The following high school seniors were finalists for Kansas State University's Civic Leadership Scholarship:

Kinsey Volk, Goodland, a senior at Goodland High School; Katelyn Stepanek, Lenexa, a senior at Olathe Northwest High School; Madelyn Yalowitz, Louisburg, a senior at Louisburg High School; Kaden Meitler, Smith Center, a senior at Smith Center High School; Savannah Leaton, Spring Hill, a senior at Spring Hill High School; Blaine Fry, Topeka, a senior at Topeka West High School; and Abigail Pentz, Winfield, a senior at Winfield High School.


Courtney Hallenbeck


Civic Leadership Scholarship

News tip

Goodland, Lansing, Lenexa, Louisburg, Olathe, Overland Park, Smith Center, Spring Hill, Topeka and Winfield.