Student Organizations

  1. K-State home
  2. »Delta Sigma Theta
  3. »National History

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

National History

Mission Statement

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding more than 200,000 women have joined the organization. The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization's Five Point Programmatic Thrust:

  • Economic Development
  • Educational Development
  • International Awareness and Involvement
  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Political Awareness and Involvement


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc was founded by 22 collegiate women! These women were:


  • Osceola Macarthy Adams
  • Marguerite Young Alexander
  • Winona Cargile Alexander
  • Ethel Cuff Black
  • Bertha Pitts Campbell
  • Zephyr Chisom Carter
  • Edna Brown Coleman
  • Jessie McGuire Dent
  • Frederica Chase Dodd
  • Myra Davis Hemmings
  • Olive C. Jones
  • Jimmie Bugg Middleton
  • Pauline Oberdorfer Minor
  • Vashti Turley Murphy
  • Naomi Sewell Richardson
  • Mamie Reddy Rose
  • Eliza Pearl Shippen
  • Florence Letcher Toms
  • Ethel Carr Watson
  • Wertie Blackwell Weaver
  • Madree Penn White
  • Edith Motte Young

For more information, please visit our national website