1. K-State home
  2. »Admissions
  3. »Apply
  4. »Out-of-state


Office of Admissions
Kansas State University
119 Anderson Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-0102

800-432-8270 toll free

785-532-6393 fax


Out-of-state students

Qualified admission

The basics of qualified admission standards are listed here. 

Freshmen from outside Kansas are given additional consideration. Since precollege curriculum requirements do vary from state to state, the Kansas Board of Regents Qualified Admission standards include several options for assessing out-of-state students. Qualified admission will be granted:

  • if a student meets all the college readiness benchmarks for each ACT subscore OR
  • if a student has completed the precollege curriculum of his or her state with over a 2.5 GPA (with this option the student must also either be ranked in the top third of the graduating class, have a 21 or higher ACT composite, or have a 980 or higher SAT CR+M) 

Once we have your completed application, we will conduct a full review!

Discounted tuition

K-State has exchange programs for students in the following programs and states:

  • Students from Missouri who major in architectural engineering, architecture, interior architecture and landscape architecture.
  • Veterinary medicine students from North Dakota.
Midwest Student Exchange Program

Students from Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and Wisconsin who major in any of 20 specific majors, mostly in architecture, agriculture or engineering, receive discounted tuition from the Midwest Student Exchange Program.


Bachelor's degree programs
Agribusiness Construction science and management
Ag communications and journalism Feed science
Agricultural economics Food science and industry
Agricultural technology management Horticulture
Agriculture education Industrial engineering
Agronomy Mechanical engineering (nuclear concentration)
Animal science and industry Milling science
Architectural engineering Nutrition and kinesiology
Bakery science Park management and conservation
Biological systems engineering  

Master's degree programs

Architecture Interior architecture and product design
Landscape architecture Regional and community planning
Kansas statute and regulations

Initial residency classification is determined from information you provide when you apply for admission. If you are living or attending school outside Kansas, if you recently moved to Kansas, or if you graduate from high school outside the state of Kansas, you may be classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes. Admitted students receive notification if classified as nonresidents. It is the student's responsibility to provide any additional information that may be required to make an accurate residency determination.

More about Kansas residency.

Request information

Apply today

Meet your rep

student stories