1. K-State home
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Dancing the night away: SpringDance 2011 April 1-2 in McCain

K-State Today

March 24, 2011

Dancing the night away: SpringDance 2011 April 1-2 in McCain

By Julie Fosberg

The talents of Kansas State University dance students and faculty take center stage for SpringDance 2011 at 7:30 p.m. April 1-2 in McCain Auditorium.

The performance showcases various styles of choreography, including contemporary and classical ballet, jazz, tap dance, musical theater, Cuban, West African and modern. The show also includes two faculty and student choreography pieces to be performed at the American College Dance Festival Association conference, April 6-9, at Wichita State University.

SpringDance 2011 includes guest artist choreography by Victor Alexander Ramirez Pages and Saylor Ann Burgess, a K-State alumna. Anna Ukele, senior in theater and anthropology, Sabetha, is the guest student choreographer for the performance.

K-State dance program choreographers for SpringDance 2011 include Neil Dunn, instructor; David Ollington, associate professor; Julie Pentz, assistant professor; and Joyce Yagerline, associate professor. The K-State Jazz Ensemble, directed by Kurt Gartner, professor of music, will provide musical accompaniment for many of the dance performances.

Tickets are $14 for the general public and $9 for students. They can be purchased at the McCain Auditorium box office from 11:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays or by calling McCain at 785-532-6428 during box office hours. Tickets also may be purchased at the Little Theater box office in the K-State Student Union from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. weekdays. More information about SpringDance is available by contacting Dunn at 785-532-6870.

Along with Ukele, K-State students performing in SpringDance 2011 include:

Jordan Roberts, sophomore in theater, and Autumn Scoggan, senior in theater, both from Beloit; Katelyn Kobialka, junior in family studies and human services, Bonner Springs; Sara Morgan, senior in theater and biology, Buhler; Krystall Ring, junior in psychology, Clay Center; Mary Byram, senior in life sciences, Council Grove; Michelle Dick, senior in kinesiology, Garden City.

From Greater Kansas City: Michelle Thomas, senior in theater, Gardner; Elahe' Bahadori, sophomore in journalism and mass communications, Isaac Falcon Campos, junior in psychology, Ching Her, junior in arts and sciences-open option, and Ashley Murray, freshman in business administration, all from Kansas City, Kan.; Caitlyn Vohs, freshman in electrical engineering, Lenexa; Mica Bengtson, sophomore in theater, Morgan Bertison, senior in animal sciences and industry, and Amy Burns, sophomore in elementary education, all from Olathe; Suave' Wesson, senior in psychology, Overland Park; and Nora Shook, senior in kinesiology, Shawnee.

Lauren Hower, sophomore in human ecology, Holton.

From Hutchinson: Molly Wichman, sophomore in kinesiology; Kailyn Willse, senior in social work; and Rachel Witham, master's student in counseling and student development.

Eryka Stabel, senior in theater, Lakin; Kennedy Connor, junior in life sciences, Liberal; Hattie Joe Straight, sophomore in theater, Maize.

From Manhattan: Alayna Fahrny, freshman in pre-psychology; Meredith Olds, freshman in theater; Bethany Parker, sophomore in theater; Vincent Pigno, graduate student in mathematics; Ellen Roberson, freshman in arts and sciences-open option; and Alexander Zolnerowich, freshman in theater.

Melissa Porter, senior in communication sciences and disorders, McLouth; Jessie Bammer, senior in life sciences, McPherson; Whisper Livingston, junior in management, Meriden.

From Salina: Megan Robl, senior in secondary education; Karissa Spohn, sophomore in theater; and Jessica Tonne, junior in family studies and human services.

From Topeka: Katherine Lero, senior in theater and secondary education; Randell Rhoten, freshman in theater; Rebecca Sells, freshman in chemical engineering; and Morgan Velez, freshman in interior design.

From Wichita: Afton Brown, freshman in theater; and Christina Devaney, junior in secondary education.

From out of state: Tanniqua-Kay Buchanan, freshman in arts and sciences-open option, Glenwood Estates, Ill.; Anna Groppoli, freshman in environmental design, Stillwater, Minn.; Heather Haberberger, senior in applied music, Fenton, Mo.; Amanda Meinhardt, junior in theater and psychology, Springfield, Mo.; Kelsey Hoffmann, sophomore in pre-journalism and mass communications, St. Louis, Mo.; Victoria Menear, freshman in theater, Bellevue, Neb.; Tyrone Williams Jr., sophomore in theater, Columbia, S.C.; Tyler Nenaber, sophomore in kinesiology, Huron, S.D.; Jesseca Milholm, freshman in animal sciences and industry, Katy, Texas; Damien Thompson, junior in life sciences, Lewisville, Texas; and Laurie Stewart, senior in communication studies, Richmond, Va.