The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897. Originating with a group of students who felt the need for an honor society on broader lines than any then in existence, it was soon transformed into a national society by action of a committee composed of the Presidents of the University of Maine, the University of Tennessee, and what was then Pennsylvania State College. The chapters in these institutions were the original chapters.

The Kansas State University chapter, the fourteenth to be organized, was established and formally installed on November 15, 1915.

College faculty who had been elected to Phi Kappa Phi at other institutions and who served as a nucleus to organize a chapter here were President Henry J. Waters; Edward N. Wentworth, Professor of Animal Breeding; N.E. Olson, Instructor of Dairy Husbandry; and R.I. Throckmorton, Assistant Professor of Agronomy. The chapter was installed by Dr. E.E. Sparks, then president of the national society and also president of Pennsylvania State College.

Forty-seven charter members were initiated at the organizational meeting, of whom J.E. Ackert, L.E. Call, L.E. Conrad, R.A. Seaton, and R.I. Throckmorton were living at the fiftieth anniversary in 1965.

The local chapter also sponsored a chapter at Fort Hays Kansas State College.

Dr. A.M. Guhl, Professor of Zoology, served the national society as president from 1962-1965.

Phi Kappa Phi logo

Chapter Invitations

The Headquarters of the Society has sent invitations to outstanding K-State students.   If you have received an invitation, please consider the benefits of joining our chapter.

Congratulations to
Award Recipients:

$5,000 Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship
   Jenny Barriga

$1,000 Study Abroad Grant
   Amanda Josephine Braun

$2,500 Literacy Grant
   Dr. Marilyn Kaff,
   Books-in-a-Bag Program

$500 Love of Learning Awards
   David D. Vail
   Dilooshi Werasooriya

$750 Undergraduate Scholarships
   Kiah M. Gourley
   Reagan Kays
   Brady R. Rundel
   Jessica C. Wheeler