1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »Lists of graduates, honors, scholarships
  6. »2011-2012 scholarship recipients
  7. »2011-2012 scholarship recipients

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Note to editors: This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Kansas recipients are listed by county and hometown.
Website: http://www.k-state.edu/sfa
News release prepared by: Megan Molitor, 785-532-3452, molitor@k-state.edu

Monday, Dec. 5, 2011

Hard work pays off: K-State students receive more than 9,500 scholarships

MANHATTAN -- More than 9,500 academic scholarships have been awarded to Kansas State University students for the 2011-2012 school year. Overall, K-State students have earned more than $18.5 million in scholarships.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation. Information on K-State student financial assistance is available at http://www.k-state.edu/sfa.

Students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:


Idaho Falls: Laura Margaret Schaffer, Heritage Award

Parma: Kathryn Marie Hartman, Second Century Scholarship

Assumption: Tamar Ellen Adcock, Honors Scholarship

Belleville: Joshua William Wetzig, Honors Scholarship



Bloomington: Melissa Sue Kieser, Agriculture Enhancement Scholarship, Kile Endowed Scholarship and Transfer Honors Scholarship

Buffalo Grove: Jacob Samuel Kozer, R. Newton Laughlin Scholarship

Camp Point: Dustin Thomas Huber, Virginia N Gibson Scholarship

Chatham: Derek Lee Bisch, Honors Scholarship

Cherry Valley: Stephen Collin Lorence, Dean's Choice Scholarship and Russell E. Serles Scholarship

Chicago: Whitney Che'Rie Bright, Cargill Project Impact Scholarship, Cargill/Horizon Milling Diversity Scholarship, Queen Of The Pantry Memorial Scholarship and Student Opportunity Award

Clayton: Kyle John Brady, Heritage Award

Columbia: Jennifer Hannon, Honors Scholarship; Angela Deann Mayer, Honors Scholarship; Kelsey Janae Middelkamp, Honors Scholarship

Crystal Lake: Jill Nicole Degani, Honors Scholarship

Dixon: Ian T Kenney, Irvin D. and Dora Mae Atkins Family Scholarship

Dunlap: Laura Gabrielle Algrain, Memorial Scholarship; Trevor A Henson, Salina Housing Scholarship and Salina Tuition Scholarship

Edwardsville: Jeffrey Joseph Czajkowski, Heritage Award; Anthony John Tarpoff, Feedlot Production Management Certificate Program Scholarship

Fairbury: Aaron Peter Schaffer, Veterinary Medicine Telefund Fund

Glen Carbon: Joshua Daniel Hurford, Heritage Award

Glen Ellyn: Gina Madonia, Honors Scholarship

Godfrey: Adrian Leigh Nickel, The Joseph Edward Salsbury Memorial Scholarship

Goodfield: Emily Marie Tabor, Veterinary Medicine Telefund Fund

Grayslake: Patrick Lyons, Ernest L. and Hettie C. Lahr Scholarship and Business Administration Telefund Fund

Hinsdale: Sean Francis Stryker, Honors Scholarship; Brandon Larson Woodle, Honors Scholarship

Indian Head Park: Sarah Christine Carlson, Heritage Award

Jacksonville: Matthew David Pennell, Honors Scholarship

Kinsman: Kaitlyn Joy Harlow, Ernest L. and Hettie C. Lahr Scholarship

La Grange Highlands: Kevin Anthony Pedrigi, Ice Family Student Emergency Fund

Lindenhurst: Ryan W Hergott, Honors Scholarship

Mahomet: Sean Michael Wonderlich, Engineering Scholarship, Heritage Award and K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship

Mattoon: Casey Aaron Beck, Transfer Honors Scholarship

Mokena: Michael Burnett Lindbloom, Agricultural Economics Emeritus Faculty & Friends Scholarship

Morton: Monica Plunkett Disberger, Floyd O. Wolfenbarger Scholarship, Heritage Award and H.W. and Mary Wilkison Scholarship; James Michael Larson, Heritage Award

Mount Prospect: Thomas Patrick Lawler, General Academic Scholarship and Kappa Sigma Endowed Scholarshi

Naperville: Carter Thomas Wands, American Society Of Baking Scholarship and Heritage Award; Brittany Rose Wands, BEMA Belshaw-Loeb Bakery Science Scholarship and Lair Family Scholarship

New Berlin: Megan Marie Weast, Heritage Award and K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship

New Douglas: Julie Ann Sauls, Denison Scholarship

Normal: David M. Bareither, George V. Redd and Mabel V. Bargdill Scholarship; Mitchell Charles Waala, Engineering Scholarship and Garmin Electrical and Computer Engineering Scholarship

Oregon: Hannah E Christen, Wheat State Agronomy Club Scholarship

Orland Park: Blake Edward Cornell, Heritage Award

Oswego: Joseph Paul Kulick, Honors Scholarship

Pocahontas: Steven Keith Niemeier, Kelce Foundation Scholarship and Gladwin A. Read Memorial Fund

Rockford: Mason Crosby, Heritage Award; Piper Lorre Cushman, Purple & White Scholarship; Christine Marie Rogers, Helen Jones Manus Memorial Scholarship and Honors Scholarship

Sandwich: Robert David Munson, Veterinary Medicine Telefund Fund

Springfield: Joseph Standard, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship

Saint Charles: James Ross Devault, Heritage Award; Chayna Jade Denicolo, Russell E. Serles Scholarship

Sugar Grove: Charlene Jane Steininger, Denison Scholarship

Sycamore: Alexandra Sky Dominguez, Heritage Award

Taylor Ridge: Bryanna Rose McManus, Honors Scholarship

Vernon Hills: Martin Tucker Wilson, Mark A. Chapman Scholars Program and Russell E. Serles Scholarship

Waterloo: Hannah Patrice Quernheim, Honors Scholarship

Wheaton: Patrick J. Flores, Kice Industries Milling Technology Scholarship;

Willowbrook: Carly Margaret Hinni, Honors Scholarship



Fort Wayne: Kara Elizabeth Peterson, Heritage Award

Indianapolis: Julia Elizabeth Fuquay, Agriculture Enhancement Scholarship, Honors Scholarship and K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship; Robert J. Sparrow, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship



Atlantic: Drew Bradford Ladd, BEMA Belshaw-Loeb Bakery Science Scholarship, Dr. Dick Hahn Distinguished Student Leadership Scholarship and Heritage Award

Bedford: Chelsea Lynn Bird, Katherine Smith Arts and Sciences Scholarship

Bussey: Rhianna Marie Wallace, Linda J. and Allen E. Homan Scholarship Fund, Purple & White Scholarship and The Emmett and Margaret Oltjen Scholarship

Chatsworth: Adara Christine Lidgett, Denison Scholarship

Coralville: Tanner Ashton Hedden, Dean's Choice Scholarship and Heritage Award; Skyler Che Hedden, Heritage Award;

Council Bluffs: Tyler William Siebels, Purple & White Scholarship

Creston: Candace Elizabeth Weeda, Transfer Heritage Scholarship

De Witt: Ethan Douglas Haley, Purple & White Scholarship

Des Moines: Kirk Michael Jensen, Heritage Award

Ely: Jessica M Smith, Dean's Choice Scholarship and Frederick and Mona Eyestone Academic Scholarship

Granger: Sara Allison Smith, Purple & White Scholarship

Johnston: Ashley M. Harms, Roscoe Ellis Jr. Scholarship; Brandon Alexander McBride, Purple & White Scholarship

Muscatine: Kayla Renae Sorensen, Joy Anne Balderson Memorial Scholarship and Purple & White Scholarship

Pocahontas: Sarah Ann Stoulil, Dean's Choice Scholarship and Purple & White Scholarship

Randolph: William Woodrow Damme-Longinaker, Elizabeth and William Henry Hinshaw Memorial Scholarship and Purple & White Scholarship

Robins: Macey Elizabeth Sevcik, Purple & White Scholarship

Sioux City: Victoria L Beaulieu, Michelle Wempe Scholarship and Purple & White Scholarship

Spirit Lake: Manndi J. Miller, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship

Story City: Garrett R. Skaar, Timothy R. Donoghue Graduate Scholarship

Traer: Sara Kay Stoakes, Joseph T. and Ann L. Davis Memorial Scholarship and Purple & White Scholarship

Washington: Paige Claudine Steele, Purple & White Scholarship

Waukee: Molly Renee Hoener, Heritage Award

West Des Moines: Alison Katherine Meyer, Holly C. and E. Beth Fryer Human Nutrition Scholarship and Heritage Award