1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2013
  6. »February 7

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Source: Kiley Moody, 785-532-6318, kmoody@k-state.edu
Hometown connection/news tip: Hollenberg, Hutchinson, Meade, Olathe, Paola, Shawnee, Tonganoxie, Topeka and Wichita, Kan.; and Costa Mesa, Calif.
Photo available: http://www.k-state.edu/media/images/feb13/civicscholies.jpg
Photo cutline: The 2013 Kansas State University Civic Leadership Scholarship recipients and finalists. Front row, from left: Patti Degner, Anallely Dominguez, Emily Veach and JoLynn Hollenberg. Back row, from left: John Carlin, former governor; Jon Srna, Farm Bureau Financial Services; Cooper Clawson; Patrick Kennedy; Tyler O'Briant; Misty Adkins; Brogan Barry; Kathryn Fix; and Steve Baccus, Kansas Farm Bureau.

Thursday, Feb. 7, 2013

Leadership that counts: 12 high school seniors finalists for university's Civic Leadership Scholarship

MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University selected 12 high school seniors as finalists for the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship, presented by Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services.

The finalists competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 24. The competition rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve. The finalists were selected for demonstrating a commitment to serving others in their community, school or place of worship. Read the winners' summaries of their civic engagement at: http://www.k-state.edu/admissions/finaid/civicrecipients.html.

John Carlin, former Kansas governor and visiting professor and executive in residence at the university's School of Leadership Studies, served as honorary chair of the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship competition. Carlin provided a supportive voice to all the finalists, said Kiley Moody, coordinator of new student services.

Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services contribute funding for three academic scholarship awards. Finalists who were not awarded one of the top three scholarships received $500 book scholarships, which also were funded by Kansas Farm Bureau, Farm Bureau Financial Services and combined gifts from Steve and Patricia Baccus, Jim and Diane Hohmann, and Dan and Cheryl Yunk.

"Kansas Farm Bureau and Farm Bureau Financial Services are committed to giving back to our communities and are proud to be a part of the Civic Leadership Scholarship program, which honors young people who are making a difference in their respective communities," said Dan Yunk, CEO, Kansas Farm Bureau.

Finalists for Kansas State University's Civic Leadership Scholarship include:

JoLynn Hennerberg, Hollenberg, senior at Washington County High School, $4,000 Civic Leadership Scholarship; Patti Degner, Hutchinson, senior at Hutchinson High School, $500 book scholarship; Cooper Clawson, Meade, senior at Meade High School, $500 book scholarship; Misty Adkins, Olathe, senior at Mill Valley High School, $2,000 Civic Leadership Scholarship; Patrick Kennedy, Paola, senior at Paola High School, $500 book scholarship; Kathryn Fix, Shawnee, senior at Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, $500 book scholarship; Tyler O'Briant, Tonganoxie, senior at Tonganoxie High School, $2,500 Civic Leadership Scholarship; and Brogan Barry, Topeka, senior at Hayden High School, $500 book scholarship.

From Wichita: Anallely Dominguez, senior at Wichita South High School, $500 book scholarship; Bethany Heintz, senior at Maize South High School, $500 book scholarship; and Emily Veach, senior at Wichita Northeast Magnet High School, $500 book scholarship.

From out of state: Ingrid Lecot, Costa Mesa, Calif., senior at Mater Dei High School, $500 book scholarship.