2014 Faculty Achievements

Behrooz Mirafzal, electrical and computer engineering, earns a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development, or CAREER, award for his proposal, "Toward Grid-Interactive Converters with Diagnostic, Remedial, and Lifetime Prognostic Features for the Next Generation of Power Grids."

• Kingsly Ambrose, grain science, earns the Andersons Cereals and Oilseeds Award of Excellence for superior contributions to science and/or education related to cereals and oilseeds.

• Landscape architecture's Jessica Canfield is building a synthetic garden in France as a finalist in the prestigious Domaine De Chaumont-Sur-Loire International Festival of Gardens.

• The 2014 Edward C. Dimock Prize in the Indian Humanities goes to K-State cultural anthropologist Jessica Marie Falcone for her manuscript, "Battling the Buddha of Love: A Cultural Biography of the Greatest Statue Never Built."

Douglas N. Dow, art, publishes the book "Apostolic Iconography and Florentine Confraternities in the Age of Reform," which examines the art patronage of three different confraternal organizations at a crucial moment in their histories.

• Teresa Douthit, animal sciences and industry, receives the American Society of Animal Science Outstanding Young Teacher Award.

Ranin Kazemi, history, is the winner of the Prince Dr. Sabbar Farman-Farmaian Research Project Fellowship from the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam, an advanced Institute of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Hayder Rasheed, civil engineering, is serving a two-year term on the American Concrete Institute's awards for papers subcommittee SC3, Chester Paul Siess Award for Excellence in Structural Research.

Kendra Ordia, interior architecture & product design, and colleagues win the 2014 Interior Design Educators Council's Creative Scholarship Award for Best in Category: Design as Idea.

Art DeGroat, director of military affairs, is appointed to the National Advisory Board of the Basetrack Project, a nationally touring theatrical production and community engagement program that dramatizes the service and reintegration of Post 9/11 era war veterans.

Kevin Sauer, hospitality management and dietetics, is elected to the Commission on Dietetic Registration, the credentialing agency for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. It also administers seven nutrition certification programs. http://www.k-state.edu/today/announcement.php?id=12988&category=kudos&referredBy=K-State%20Today%20Archive

Joye Gordon and Bonnie Bressers, journalism and mass communications, receive the third annual Industry Research Forum Award from the Council of Affiliates of Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication and the Scripps Howard Foundation.

Dave Bruton, district forester with the Kansas Forest Service, Valley Falls, is the 2013 Kansas Wildlife Federation Forest Conservationist of the Year.

Chuck Rice, university distinguished professor of agronomy, is serving a three-year term on the Scientific Steering Group for the North American Carbon Program, or NACP.

• The Soil Science Society of America Certified Professional Soil Scientist Certifying Board has certified DeAnn Presley, associate professor of agronomy and extension soil management specialist, as a professional soil scientist.

Dallas Peterson, professor of agronomy and weed management specialist, is president-elect of the Weed Science Society of America.

Richard Rosenkranz, assistant professor of human nutrition department, is a new fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine, an organization dedicated to advancing health through science, education and medicine.

Uwe Thumm, professor of physics, has been selected a Femtosecond and Attosecond Science and Technology fellow at the Swiss National Center of Competence in Research Molecular Ultrafast Science and Technology.

Anita Dille received an Outstanding Paper Award from the Weed Science Society of America as co-author of "Local Conditions, Not Regional Gradients, Drive Demographic Variation of Giant Ragweed, Ambrosia trifida, and Common Sunflower, Helianthus anuus, Across Northern U.S. Maize Belt," which was published in Weed Science. 

Nora Bello, assistant professor of statistics, is the winner of the Best Paper for the Journal of Agricultural, Biological and Environmental Statistics by an International Biometric Society member. The paper, "Inferring upon heterogeneous associations in dairy cattle performance using a bivariate hierarchical model," was co-written with R.J. Tempelman, J.P. Steibel and R.J. Erksine.

• Diane Swanson, professor of management and the von Waaden professor of business administration, has a new book, "Embedding CSR into Corporate Culture: Challenging the Executive Mind." The publisher is Palgrave Macmillan in the United Kingdom.

Chad Weiberg, senior associate athletics director for development, is the 2014 National Association of Athletic Development Directors, or NAADD, Fundraiser of the Year.

• K-State Salina's Bill Gross, professor of aviation, has again earned his Master Certificated Flight Instructor accreditation, making him one of only 36 worldwide to receive the credential six times.

• M.M. Chengappa, university distinguished professor and head of the diagnostic medicine and pathobiology department, is the he American College of Veterinary Microbiologists' 2013 Distinguished Veterinary Microbiologist of the Year.

• Joann Kouba, associate professor of animal sciences and industry, was named the NACADA Region 7 Award Recipient for Excellence in Advising-Faculty Role. The award recognizes faculty who demonstrate qualities of effective advising and practices that distinguish them as outstanding in academic advising.

• The Downtown Council of Kansas City recognized Vladimir Krstic, professor of architecture and director of the Kansas City Design Center, with its Urban Hero Award, which recognizes small businesses and individuals who are passionate about making downtown Kansas City a more vibrant place to live, work and play.

• Showtimes Junior Livestock magazine inducted Scott Schaake, associate professor of animal sciences and industry, into its Hall of Fame at the 2014 Denver National Western Show. To be inducted, individuals must achieve something great in the livestock industry. They may be an exhibitor, judge, show official or someone who makes a great impression. Schaake is the coach of the university's Livestock Judging Team, which has won five national championships under his leadership.

• The Ogallala Aquifer Program, which includes K-State researchers, received the prestigious 2013 USDA Secretary's Honor Award in the category of enhancing economic vitality and quality of life in rural America.

• Sunanda Dissanayake, associate professor of civil engineering, was commended by he Council for International Exchange of Scholars for her service on the engineering peer review committee that completed the merit review of Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program applicants for the 2014-2015 year.


2013 Faculty

2012 Faculty

2011 Faculty

2010 Faculty

2009 Faculty