1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2011
  6. »Scholars

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

2011 Scholars Achievements

* Sean Webeck, master's student in security studies, Manhattan, received a 2011 Boren Fellowship. The fellowships are funded by the National Security Education Program and support students interested in national security by providing up to $30,00 for two academic years. Webeck will spend a year in Amman, Jordan, studying Arabic. June 2011

* Rachel Hoppins, sophomore in wildlife biology, Wichita, is the winner of a 2011 Morris K. Udall Scholarship. DeeAnn-Rose Turpin, junior in biological systems engineering, Leavenworth, and Mark Sowers, junior in biology, Spring Hill, both earned honorable mentions in this year's scholarship competition. The scholarship is worth $5,000 and is awarded to as many as 80 students each year. K-State students have earned 22 Udall scholarships, which ranks the university third in total Udall scholars among state universities and fifth overall since the scholarship program began in 1996. April 2011

* Gage Brummer, a junior in biochemistry and premedicine, Prairie Village, received a 2011 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship. He is K-State's 67th Goldwater scholar. The scholarship provides up to $7,500 annually for outstanding students who plan to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering. K-State ranks first in the nation among 500 public universities, with 67 Goldwater scholars. April 2011

* Melanie Hall, Junction City, received a 2011 Harry S. Truman Scholarship. Hall, a senior in psychology and premedicine with certification in conflict resolution, is K-State's 33rd Truman scholar. The Truman Scholarship is a national competition that provides up to $30,000 for graduate study for students committed to future careers in public service. K-State ranks first among all public universities in the number of Truman Scholarship winners since the scholarships were created in 1977. April 2011

2010 Scholars

2009 Scholars