Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Kansas State University achievements

2009 Scholars


* Three K-State students received one-year fellowships to study, work or conduct research abroad from the 2009 Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Recipients are Mike Reppert, Manhattan, for study in Poland; Jacque LaRue, Moran, to teach in South Korea; and Nora Johnson, Dell Rapids, S.D., to study in Germany. K-State now has had 50 Fulbright student scholars since 1975. July 2009

* Andrew McGowan, senior in agronomy with a soil and environmental science option, Prairie Village, has been named K-State's 21st Morris K. Udall scholar. McGowan is among 80 students to win a 2009 Udall scholarship, a $5,000 national scholarship that is awarded to students who demonstrate a commitment to a career related to environmental protection or to students who are Native Americans or Native Alaskans seeking careers in health care or tribal policy. He was selected from a pool of 515 candidates nominated by 233 colleges and universities. K-State ranks third in total Udall scholars among state universities and fifth overall since the scholarship program began in 1996. April 2009

* Dena Bunnel is K-State's 31st Harry S. Truman Scholarship winner. Bunnel, Welda, is a senior in political science and agricultural communications and journalism. As a 2009 Truman scholar, she receives up to $30,000 for graduate studies toward a career in public service. K-State ranks first in the nation among public universities in producing Truman scholars, and Bunnel's award brings the university's total to 31 and one alternate since the first scholarships were awarded in 1977. K-State is sixth among all 2,000 four-year colleges in America, 500 state and 1,500 private. Bunnel is planning a career in sustainable agriculture, working as a project designer or manager for agriculture development programs in low-income countries. Specifically, she would like to work in Africa with extension programs promoting sustainable agriculture practices. March 2009

* Ryan Gallagher, senior in microbiology and premedicine, Olathe, is K-State's 64th Barry M. Goldwater scholar, while K-State's, Erik Stalcup, junior in physics, Wellington, received honorable mention in the scholarship competition. The 2009 Goldwater scholars were selected based on academic merit from a field of 1,097 mathematics, science and engineering students nationwide. Gallagher is among 278 Goldwater scholars this year. The scholarship provides up to $7,500 annually for the scholar's final one or two years of undergraduate studies. In the Goldwater competition, K-State ranks first nationally among all 500 state universities and is tied for third place nationally among the 2,000 four-year colleges and universities. March 2009

* Two K-State students are recipients of the 2009 Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship that provides up to $5,000 for undergraduate study abroad. Scholarship winners Laura Carlson, Lindsborg, and Manuel Garcia, Ulysses,both chose to study in Prague, Czech Republic, in the spring 2009 semester. Carlson and Garcia, who are among the 600 scholars to receive the scholarship in spring 2009, bring K-State's total of Gilman scholars to 24 since the first scholarships were awarded in spring 2002. Carlson is a junior in sociology and family studies and human services and is seeking minors in music and Spanish. Garcia is a senior in mechanical engineering with a minor in business. March 2009


2008 Scholars

2007 Scholars