1. K-State home
  2. »K-State First
  3. »K-State Book Network
  4. »Award

K-State Book Network (KSBN)

2016 Awards

The purpose of this award is to celebrate the common experiences had at K-State with the 2016 common book, Spare Parts

Individual Student Award 
Number of awards:1
Amount of Award:$1,000
Eligibility:Any current K-State student
Submission Deadline:Friday, December 2, 2016 by 11:59 pm

Students are invited to submit their experience with Joshua Davis’s Spare Parts.Your experience can be shared through a non-fiction essay, creative writing, music, video, visual art, performance art, or some other medium. Entries should indicate the basis for your experience, such as the book, Joshua Davis’s lecture, a classroom discussion, or some other KSBN-sponsored event, program, or assigned reading selection. 

Need inspiration? Try one of the questions below:
  1. What did you learn about yourself or your community from reading Spare Parts?

  2. How has Spare Parts inspired you inside and outside the classroom?

  3. Discuss a time when you had to think out of the box in order to achieve a desired solution. What was the situation or task, what actions did you take, and what was the result?

  4. Oscar found his niche in the ROTC program at Carl Hayden High School. What programs and activities interest you at K-State and why?

  5. “To kids like Cristian and Lorenzo, getting good grades sometimes seemed like the least of their problems” (Davis, p. 36): What are your anxieties and fears that keep you from your studies? How can you overcome these adversities?

Apply:Applications closed


Student Group Award
Number of awards1
Amount of Award:$250
EligibilityOSAS registered student groups, K-State learning communities, and K-State residence
Submission Deadline:Friday, December 2, 2016 by 11:59 pm

Please share your group’s experience with Spare Parts. You can share that experience through whatever medium you prefer. Entries should indicate in some specific way how your group interacted with Spare Parts and/or with one of the events on campus, such as the Joshua Davis lecture, the lecture series, a classroom experience, or some other event or program. 

Need inspiration? Try one of the questions below:
  1.  How has Spare Parts impacted your group or organization?
  2. How has your group or organization used Spare Parts to impact the community?

  3. From the beginning, Fredi Lajvardi and Dr. Cameron instilled the belief that the team should try not to finish in last place. Do you believe this coaching strategy was appropriate, or was it simply a better approach for the competition?

  4. What role did small businesses and corporate businesses have in the success of the team’s work?

For the group application process, please also provide a short (100-150 word) description of how your group would use the $250 award. (Note: The funds may not be donated to another group or organization, and the money must be spent by your group during the Spring 2017 semester.)
Apply:Applications closed


2016 Faculty/Staff Award

Number of awards:1
EligibilityCurrent K-State faculty and staff
Submission Deadline: Friday, December 2, 2016 by 11:59 pm

Faculty and staff are invited to submit their learning activities related to the 2016 common reading selection, Spare Parts. Activities may include, but are not limited to, paper assignments, events, discussions, and programs.

One outstanding activity will be selected based on:

  • Creative application of theme(s) from the book

  • Engagement of students in program, project, or activity

  • Demonstrated enthusiasm for enhancing the educational experience at K-State

Apply: Applications closed


Past Winners

Faculty Winners

2014 -Charles Sanders

2013-Dan Ireton, Joelle Pitts, and Ben Ward

2012-Laura Donnelly

2011-L. Sue Williams

Student Winners

2014-Muriel Eaton

2013-Brett Bachman

2012-Jamie Westphal

2011-Shana Gordon, Eric Hampton, Mathew McKernan, Kelly Novosel, and Emilio Quezada