1. K-State home
  2. »CECD
  3. »About
  4. »Staff

Center for Engagement and Community Development

David Procter

David E. Procter, Director

David Procter is Director of CECD and a professor of speech communication. He received his B.S. and M.A. from Kansas State University and his Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska. Since arriving at K-State in 1987, he has worked in partnership with communities across the state. He has worked on issues of school consolidation, community strategic planning, heritage museum education, facilitation of community dialogue, and strategies for re-populating rural communities. Procter has authored two books on community building - Enacting Political Culture (1991) and The Rhetoric of Community Building (2005) plus numerous essays and book chapters on the subject. Before becoming the Director of CECD, Procter served on the Advisory Board for the Kansas Center for Rural Initiatives.

Chandra Ruthstrom

Chandra Ruthstrom, Program/Project Coordinator

Chandra Ruthstrom is the Program/Project Coordinator for operations at the Center for Engagement and Community Development. Her duties include special event coordination, maintaining and monitoring fiscal operations, serving as the liaison with university departments and Kansas communities and is the center’s grant manager and administrator.  She enjoys living in the country with her husband Terry and is proud to represent her small hometown as a member of Leonardville PRIDE.  Rural by Choice!

Nancy Daniels

Nancy Daniels, Community Vitality Specialist and CECD Liason

Nancy is a Community Vitality Specialist for K-State Research and Extension and liaison to CECD.  As a Community Vitality Specialist she works with rural communities statewide in appreciating their assets and building on their possibilities.  Before coming to Extension, Nancy was a non-profit executive director and the director of community initiatives with United Way of Greater Topeka. Nancy met her husband Don at K-State and has a BBA from Washburn University and MPA from the University of Kansas.  She is proud of her family’s designation as K-State Family of the Year in 2013. Current projects include First Impressions, a “Secret Shopper” opportunity for two communities of similar size; grant writing workshops to help communities increase their capacity to fund their dreams; and efforts aimed at increasing the entrepreneurship ecosystem in communities. 

David Procter

Donna Schenck-Hamlin, Program/Project Associate

Donna Schenck-Hamlin is Program/Project Associate for both CECD and ICDD. She co-founded ICDD in 2004, and has developed a passion for helping small-population towns and under-served individuals in rural and urban areas. Donna received a Bachelor’s degree in literature from the University of Oregon, and has a Master’s degree in Musicology from Kansas State University, as well as a Master’s degree in Library Science from the University of Oregon. As Program/Project Associate she hopes to promote civic work to faculty and students at KSU who may have never recognized engagement in their academic endeavors. She also hopes to develop facilitation skills and resources for students, faculty, and community organizers.  In her free time, Donna likes landscape gardening, biking, and music. She has completed the Bike Across Kansas ride 5 times, and went 11 years without owning a car.



Tina Khan, Food Access Project Coordinator

Tina Khan is the Program/Project Associate for the Center for Engagement and Community Development.  She coordinates Rural Food Access work for the center, focusing primarily on the Kansas Healthy Food Initiative where K-State serves as the Food Access Organization.  Her passion for serving communities and connecting individuals to resources is what drives her work at the center.  She comes to CECD with 14 years in public education working with culturally & linguistically diverse populations.  As a certified leadership facilitator she often engages groups working through adaptive issues in order to make progress for communities.  She fills her spare time with cycling, outdoor activities, animals and enjoying the beautiful countryside of Lyon County Kansas where she lives with her husband Brandon, their five dogs, two miniature donkeys and potbelly pig Roscoe.