Associated Faculty

Douglas Benson, (Ph.D. University of Mexico, 1973) Professor, Modern Languages. Spanish/Latin American Literature; literary theory; U.S. Hispanic literature, bensonml@ksu.edu

Albert Bimper, Jr, Assistant Professor of Special Education, Counseling and Student Affairs, abimper@ksu.edu.

Alfred Cochran, (Ph.D. Catholic University, 1986) Professor of Music. Film music; jazz; use of jazz in film scores; American music; Jazz in Kansas City and the Midwest; Leith Stevens, Aaron Copland, Gail Kubik, cochalw@ksu.edu

María Teresa DePaoli, (Ph.D. Purdue University, 2001) Associate Professor of Spanish, Latin American Literature and Culture, Race, Gender, Border and Film Studies, mmtzotz@ksu.edu

John Exdell, (Ph.D. University of Texas, 1973) Associate Professor, Philosophy. Social, race, and political philosophy, jbex@ksu.edu

Jessica Falcone, (Ph.D. Cornell University, 2010) Assistant Professor, Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, jfalcone@ksu.edu

Kurt Gartner, (Ph.D. University of Northern Colorado, 2001) Professor of Music. Cuba/Africana Music, kgartner@ksu.edu

Wayne Goins, (Ph.D. Florida State University, 1998) Professor, Music. The influence of culture on the emotional response to music, weg@ksu.edu

Tanya González, (Ph.D. University of California, Riverside, 2004) Associate Professor of English, Latina/o Literature and Culture, Women's Studies, Cultural Studies, tgonzale@ksu.edu

David Griffin, Sr., (Ed.D. Kansas State University, 1994) Assistant Dean and Director of the Center for Student and Professional Services Curriculum and Instruction, dlgriff@ksu.edu

Michelle Janette, (Ph.D. Yale University, 1997) Associate Professor, English. Gender, ethnicity, and multicultural literature, mjanette@ksu.edu

Salvador Oropesa, (Ph.D. Arizona State University, 1992) Professor of Modern Languages. Peninsular and Mexican Literature, Culture and Social history, Cinema, oropesa@ksu.edu

Valerie Padilla Carroll, (Ph.D. University of South Carolina, 2005) Instructor of Women's Studies. Intersections of gender, race/ethnicity and class, environmental justice and environmentalism, gender and popular culture, carrollv@ksu.edu

Lis Pankl, (MLS University of North Texas, 2005) Associate Professor K-State Libraries. Frida Kahlo; Embodied Geographies; Cultural/Critical Geography. epankl@ksu.edu

Harald Prins, (Ph.D. New School for Social Research, 1988, Doctoral, University of Nijmegen [The Netherlands], 1978) Distinguished Professor of Anthropology and University Distinguished Teaching Scholar. Cultural Anthropology; Indigenous Peoples; Human Rights; North America; South America, prins@ksu.edu

Shireen Roshanravan, (Ph.D, Binghamton University, 2007) Assistant Professor Women's Studies. Feminist of color theory, Asian American studies, critical race theory. sroshanr@ksu.edu

Marcelo Sabatés, (Ph.D. Brown University, 1997) Associate Professor and Department Head of Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemelogy, Philosophy in Latino Literature, sabates@ksu.edu

Donald Saucier, (Ph.D. University of Vermont, 2001) Associate Professor of Psychology, Measurement and Reduction of Prejudice broadly defined, to include prejudice based on race, sex, class, sexual orientation, and disability status, saucier@ksu.edu

Walter Schumm, (Ph.D. Purdue University, 1979) Professor of Family Studies, Islam and Culture, Comparative Religion, Ethnicity and Military Families, Ethnicity and Health of Military Personnel, Ethnicity and Methodological Issues, schumm@ksu.edu

Bonnie Lynn Sherow, (Ph.D., Northwestern University, 1998): Associate Professor of History, American Agricultural, Environmental, and Native American History, blynn@ksu.edu.

James Sherow, (Ph.D. University of Colorado, 1987) Associate Professor, History. Ethnohistory; North American Indian Peoples; Great Plains Indian Peoples, jsherow@ksu.edu

Jeffrey S. Smith, (Ph.D. Arizona State University, 1997) Associate Professor, Geography, World Regional Geography examines major culture regions of the world; Seminar in Cultural Geography explores major themes and topics in the geographical study of culture, jssmith7@ksu.edu

Lisa Tatonetti, (Ph.D. Ohio State University, 2001) Associate Professor, English, Cultural Studies, Ethnic Literature (Native American) and Women's Studies. tatonett@ksu.edu

Kay Ann Taylor, (Ph.D. Iowa State University, 2001) Associate Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, Foundations of Education, Critical Race Theory, History of African Americans and Educators, Philosophy of Education, Cultural Responsive Teaching/Multicultural Education and Competency, ktaylor@ksu.edu

Tushabe, (Ph.D. Sunny Binghamton, 2008) Assistant Professor, Women's Studies. Global sexual identities, African cultures and philosophy, colonialism and post-colonial theories, critical race theory. tushabe@ksu.edu

La Barbara Wigfall, (MCRP Harvard University, 1977) Assistant Professor, Landscape Architecture. Planning and urban design; black settlements in America; origin and evolution of black communities within the continental U.S.; community preservation, lbjw@ksu.edu

Zelia Wiley, (Ph.D. Penn State University, 1996) Dean of Diversity, College of Agriculture, Diversity in the Workplace, Multiculturalism, Multicutural Competency, Cultural Pluralism, Diversity in Agricultural Sciences, Natural Resources, zwh@ksu.edu

Spencer Wood, (Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2006) Associate Professor of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work, sdwood@ksu.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Juanita McGowan, P.h.D, Adult & Continuing Education, Kansas State University, 1990, M.S.W., Social Work, University of Kansas, 1975, B.S.W., Social Work, University of Kansas, 1974.  Retired from the University in June 2012. blessing@ksu.edu