Student Organizations

  1. K-State home
  2. »ACJA
  3. »Secretary & Chief of Staff Emeritus

The Criminology Club / KSU ACJA

Secretary & Chief of Staff Emeritus

Brian Swenson
Secretary & Chief of Staff Emeritus I of KSU ACJA

swenson emeritus chief of staff

Brian Swenson was promoted by President Emeritus, Ronnie Hernandez on February 12, 2015 to serve as Secretary and Chief of Staff Emeritus I of KSU ACJA upon Mr. McKinney's full retirement announcement made on February 11, 2015. The Emeritus Cabinet approved Mr. Hernandez's promotional appointment by unanimous consent. Mr. Swenson served as Treasurer of KSU ACJA from 2011 - 2012 and as Secretary and Chief of Staff for the 2012 - 2013 academic year. He has an extensive leadership history - one of which includes generating a large amount of revenue (as Treasurer) in a short 3 month span which was close to $350.00. The money raised was used to hold a field trip with members of the fraternity, including a trip to the Cosmosphere Center in Hutchinson, KS, and the Law Enforcement Training Center. He was also instrumental as a Chief of Staff in furthering the mission of the founders by leading the membership to have a thorough understanding of the leadership process, the constitution, and the duties of which are largely necessary to further the mission of our new found tradition. 

Currently, Mr. Swenson lives in Holton, KS where he makes frequent visits to Kansas State University and visits on behalf of the Emeritus Cabinet to serve as the official liaison and correlates a lot with the current officers of KSU ACJA. He has an extensive knowledge of the leadership process and provides much input and advise to the members in order to make sure the full functions of the fraternity are in place. Mr. Swenson has been dubbed as one of the most passionate members of KSU ACJA as he believes in the mission promised to current and future students and is very active even after graduation from Kansas State. He is also the official appointee (made by President Emeritus I, Ronnie Hernandez) to serve as Chairman of the Hernandez Family Scholarship program.

There have been two Secretary and Chief's of Staff under Mr. Swenson's advice, they are:

  1. Kiahsha Shavers, (May 2015 - Present)
  2. Cody Blake - (February 2015 - May 2015)


mckinneyChristopher McKinney was the 1st Secretary and Chief of Staff in Kappa Sigma Upsilon Chapter history and was one of the co-founders under the leadership of President Hernandez and Vice President Torres. He served for the 2011 - 2012 academic year at Kansas State University. Mr. McKinney was a major in Criminology with a minor in American Ethnic Studies and Leadership Studies.

On Thursday, April 19, 2012, he was approved by the KSU ACJA membership to be officially recognized as Secretary and Chief of Staff Emeritus for his efforts in helping the administration build on the foundation and provide leadership to elected and appointed officials to achieve the goals set forth by the administration after the fraternity was started and initiated in December of 2011. 

Under his leadership, Mr. McKinney provided advise to the administration in matters pertaining to fundraising and constructing membership retention, including recruitment. He also served as the President's liaison in the Recruitment Committee. President Hernandez was very appreciative of his work, sacrifices, and the efforts he put forth to take the chapter to the next level. Previously, he served as Secretary and Chief of Staff and was promoted by President Hernandez to serve as Associate Vice President.

Aside from serving as Secretary and Chief of Staff for KSU ACJA, he also served as the Publicity Chair of the K-State Criminology Club and a student representative for the K-State Principles of Community Committee. He was appointed by Student Body President, Nate Spriggs.

Mr. McKinney officially announced his full retirement from his advising duties on February 11, 2015. There have been five Secretary and Chief's of Staff under Mr. McKinney's advice, they are:

  1. Brian Swenson - (May 2012 - December 2013)
  2. Dilon Altwegg - (January 2013 - April 2013)
  3. Adriana Olivas - (April 2013 - August 30, 2013)
  4. Dilon Altwegg - (August 2013 - May 2014)
  5. Cody Blake - (May 2014 - February 2015)