1. Kansas State University
  2. »Division of Communications and Marketing
  3. »K-State Today
  4. »Geography and geospatial sciences department recognizes student scholarship recipients

K-State Today

May 7, 2024

Geography and geospatial sciences department recognizes student scholarship recipients

Submitted by Chuck Martin

The geography and geospatial sciences department presented its departmental student awards and scholarships at its annual honors and awards reception on May 2. The department awarded $50,000 in scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students for the 2024-2025 academic year. 

The following students received awards: 

Ifeoma Okonye, master's student; Shreya Ojha, doctoral student; and Harsimran Singh Sodhi, doctoral student, Steven Kale Graduate Research Fellowships. 

Sande Williams, master's student; Neda Mohamadzadeh, doctoral student; and Ifeoma Okonye, master's student, William Grimm Undergraduate Scholarship. 

Jessie McClellan, senior, Huber Self Scholarship in Geography.

Logan Cox, senior, H.L. Seyler Undergraduate GIScience Scholarship.

Stephanie Williams, senior; and Jessie McClellan, senior, LeBlanc Outstanding Undergraduate Major Award.

Jessie Williams, senior; and Stephanie Williams, senior, NCGE/AAG Excellence in Scholarship Award.

Shreya Ojha, doctoral student; Moupyali Chakravarty, doctoral student; Sande Williams, master's student; and Mobashsira Tasnim, master's student, Stephen and Susan White GTA Excellence Award.

Roberto Trigueros, freshman; Jessie McClellan, senior; Sabrina Johnson, senior; Ian Woodruff, junior; Sydnie Sykes, sophomore; Joaquin Sporleder, junior; and Joseph Arredondo, senior, Robert H. Williams Undergraduate Geography Scholarships.

Denise Chavez Reyes, doctoral student, Department Leadership Award. 

Denise Chavez Reyes, doctoral student, Dobbs Outstanding Citizen Award.

Jessie McClellan, senior; Caroline Ruto, doctoral student; and Michael Madin, doctoral student, Milton and Emma Jean Rafferty GTU Geography Scholarships.

Moupyali Chakravarty, doctoral student, Marston Muddy Boots Award.

Duncan Young, senior, Linda Patterson Geography Scholarship.

Shreya Ojha, doctoral student, Hartington Family Scholarship.

Duncan Young, senior, Steven Kale Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

Congratulations to all the student award recipients and thank you to all the department alumni donors who make these scholarships possible.